View Full Version : new laptop



DiverDave1998
04-17-2006, 11:59 AM
I just bought a new laptop and want to use it for cacheing should i do anything to it ? it has wireless.

J_Cyr
04-17-2006, 12:12 PM
What kind of laptop?

WhereRWe?
04-17-2006, 12:52 PM
I just bought a new laptop and want to use it for cacheing should i do anything to it ? it has wireless.

#1. Turn it on.
#2. Load it with GSAK and a good mapping program (I like Garmin's City Select).
#3. Get your pockey queries loaded.
#4. Get on the road! LOL!

robt
04-17-2006, 05:10 PM
I added a CF GPS device to mine so that I can track on my routing to caches that I set into a delorme route, helps make sure I get to the cache the shortest way possible.

DiverDave1998
04-17-2006, 05:15 PM
i took it for a ride to waterville coun't find anyplace that would connect
champions has the best signal but its locked. can ya unlock them?

Hiram357
04-17-2006, 05:25 PM
I just bought a new laptop and want to use it for cacheing should i do anything to it ? it has wireless.

ehhh, ya probably don't want a lap top for caching, why dont you give that to me and I'll swap ya with an even trade, I'll give you a notepad, and a pencil, they're both wireless too, I put the antennas on myself...

Hiram357
04-17-2006, 05:26 PM
and by wireless, do you mean Wi-Fi, or Wireless Internet???

Smitty & Co.
04-17-2006, 05:38 PM
i took it for a ride to waterville coun't find anyplace that would connect
champions has the best signal but its locked. can ya unlock them?

Another post here on this site somewhere mentions that most VIP auto stores offer FREE WI-FI

dí76
04-17-2006, 05:47 PM
GO To here to download eroute and you can then use realtime tracking

http://www.garmin.com/support/agree.jsp?id=575

if you have mapsource products you can see it on a much larger scale

sheeplady
04-17-2006, 05:52 PM
You should be able to get a signal at VIP auto stores and in downtown Waterville on Main Street near Jorgenson's. We have gotten a signal at Jorgenson's, but haven't tried out VIP in Waterville yet. We did get a great signal in Mexico at the VIP there, and you are supposed to get a signal at all VIP stores.

WhereRWe?
04-17-2006, 06:22 PM
i took it for a ride to waterville coun't find anyplace that would connect
champions has the best signal but its locked. can ya unlock them?

No - you can't unlock them, but try NetStumbler (http://www.netstumbler.com/downloads/) - it will locate wireless hotspots for you, and tell you if they are locked or not.

DISCLAIMER: The author of this response does not condone the "questionably illegal" piracy of wireless internet signals. The fact that he does it all the time also has no bearing.

Quoddy
04-17-2006, 06:38 PM
I have a Dell 700m which is a great size for traveling. I use a Verizon broadband aircard and two communication backups systems (just in case).
Loaded on it: GSAK, Expert GPS, MapSource, Topo USA, NRoute, GoogleEarth (pay version), DeLorme Topo USA6.0, Street Atlas USA 2006, RoboGeo, POI loader, and xImage. Yes, it's a caching laptop. Feeds nicely into the Dell Axim51v and 60CSx for actual caching.

Haffy
04-17-2006, 06:48 PM
HOLY CRAP!!!!! Do you have any DNF's?............:D

hollora
04-17-2006, 08:10 PM
Some McDonald's have wireless but sometimes it does not work. When it doesn't if they have a paid membership "Cafe" with a computer I have found them willing to let you use it "without" the membership.

DiverDave1998
04-17-2006, 10:32 PM
anyone ever bought from dell

my laptop crashed

they told me to send 297.00 bucks and i could talk to tech support 4 times or 72 hours witch ever comes first

Hiram357
04-17-2006, 11:02 PM
i've got a dell desktop and a dell laptop, i love their computers, but good luck on their customer service. If it breaks i just fix it myself.

DiverDave1998
04-17-2006, 11:52 PM
I tried vip was a very weak signal there

DiverDave1998
04-17-2006, 11:53 PM
thats what i figured if it breaks your on your own

Hiram357
04-18-2006, 09:04 PM
thats what i figured if it breaks your on your own

it aint that bad, what's the thing doing when ya start it up?

robt
04-18-2006, 09:05 PM
anyone ever bought from dell

my laptop crashed

they told me to send 297.00 bucks and i could talk to tech support 4 times or 72 hours witch ever comes first

Hmm, I have 2 dell laptops here and the support has been pretty good, the only problem I ever have is convince the tech that I am actually a dell certified tech and allready have done the diagnosis...... But then I did put the 4 year complete care waranty on them so I did not have to worry about breaking them... :) Caching accidents, oops how did that fall off the cliff :)

Hiram357
04-18-2006, 09:08 PM
Hmm, I have 2 dell laptops here and the support has been pretty good, the only problem I ever have is convince the tech that I am actually a dell certified tech and allready have done the diagnosis...... But then I did put the 4 year complete care waranty on them so I did not have to worry about breaking them... :) Caching accidents, oops how did that fall off the cliff :)

i knew you were a dell tech! i could tell by your pic in your avatar! :D

tat
04-18-2006, 09:11 PM
We have standardized on Dell where I work. We always get the next business day, 3 year service plan. I always get every little thing fixed just before the warrenty runs out. Their support has always been great. I own a Dell desktop and have no problems, other than self inflicted problems.

Hiram357
04-18-2006, 09:13 PM
that must be my problem, i never buy warranties or service packages, i dont beleive in ownin something i cant fix myself... then after i spend half an hour on the phone talking to some dell tech (whos sitting in his study hall) that cant help me fix my problem i give up on them and figure it out eventually.

SewN2Cachin'
04-19-2006, 02:19 AM
Sone other places for free Wi-Fi: Panera Bread in Augusta, and the Maine State Library in Augusta. Barnes and Noble has a paid Wi-Fi option, too....

Dell customer service has not been the most user-friendly option, in my experience. I have a Dell laptop, and I downloaded GSAK, but have not downloaded to my GPSr because I need an adapter or a different cord. My GPSr doesn't have a USB port. :(

WhereRWe?
04-19-2006, 07:02 AM
Sone other places for free Wi-Fi: Panera Bread in Augusta, and the Maine State Library in Augusta. Barnes and Noble has a paid Wi-Fi option, too....

(

Amost all public libraries in Maine have free public WiFi access. In fact, some of us are supposed to be putting together a list of WiFi hotspots. :o :o

DiverDave1998
04-19-2006, 07:04 AM
I tried vip in waterville signal was too weak the oakland schools are locked

firefighterjake
04-19-2006, 11:33 AM
I think we have Wi-fi here at work, but I'm not a techie so I don't know for certain and if in fact we do I would suspect that it would either a) be locked or b) not be very strong due to the concrete in the building. Someone can still give it a try sometime though. 289 Main St. in Bangor.

DiverDave1998
04-19-2006, 11:09 PM
I got the dell going and als got the last laugh
I wonder if dell had ever heard of stop payment
seems they want to talk now.
I think i lost interest though.
Remember never give someone a hard time tell ya get the dough.

Hiram357
04-19-2006, 11:15 PM
haha, that's one way to stick it to em