View Full Version : looking: us topo



lwa11
06-26-2006, 06:24 PM
I am looking for US Topo if anyone is looking to get rid of theirs.

LWA11

dí76
06-26-2006, 06:27 PM
I am looking for US Topo if anyone is looking to get rid of theirs.

LWA11

I know where you can get a 60c with it already installed:D

lwa11
06-26-2006, 09:24 PM
lol...I bet ya do.

Hiram357
06-27-2006, 07:16 PM
are you looking for it to run on your computer? or on your gpsr? or on a palm?

dí76
06-27-2006, 07:35 PM
are you looking for it to run on your computer? or on your gpsr? or on a palm?

The topo that runs on your gps it will also run on the pc.

Come on Hiram try to keep up:p :D

Hiram357
06-27-2006, 07:47 PM
The topo that runs on your gps it will also run on the pc.

Come on Hiram try to keep up:p :D

gimme a break, i can't even load waypoints on my GPS without boggin it down... i have no idea about the compatiblity issues with these fancy things you high rollers carry around in the woods. :p

dí76
06-27-2006, 07:54 PM
gimme a break, i can't even load waypoints on my GPS without boggin it down... i have no idea about the compatiblity issues with these fancy things you high rollers carry around in the woods. :p

I think you would be better off with a magellan. I think the Garmin is to smart for you:D

Mainiac1957
06-27-2006, 08:14 PM
I think you would be better off with a magellan. I think the Garmin is to smart for you:D
Ouch!!:eek:

(good one Dave)

lwa11
06-27-2006, 10:00 PM
I was looking on Ebay..does anyone know if these need unlock codes or if they do not need em, thus is safe to buy from ebay?

dí76
06-27-2006, 10:07 PM
I was looking on Ebay..does anyone know if these need unlock codes or if they do not need em, thus is safe to buy from ebay?

You dont need unlock codes for mapsource topo Becareful that they are not another country. And I don believe they sell them as seperate disks such as east coast west coast and alaska and hawaii. I would be very cautiuos of any really good deals.

dí76
06-27-2006, 10:08 PM
I use mapsource and I would recommend it most of the time. It hasnt been updated recently and it doesnt auto route

lwa11
06-27-2006, 10:21 PM
that is the one I am looking at.... I am wary of the EBay ones. I think 3.02 is the latest version of it.

Just would like ot have some elevation idea if I am on a trail... or maybe know how close I am to the top of a mountain... lol I guess that could be inspirational or dejecting... lol

FuddsGirls
06-28-2006, 08:54 AM
I use mapsource topo now, and I just started to look at the elevation lines. We chose topo because it was the only one we knew of when we bought our gpsr. I just got a 2004 Street Atlas USA to try out because I am lousy with directions. Does anyone know if this version is worth the try or should I go straight to the 2006? GSAK gets added tonight..

Slate
06-28-2006, 10:13 AM
I use mapsource topo now, and I just started to look at the elevation lines. We chose topo because it was the only one we knew of when we bought our gpsr. I just got a 2004 Street Atlas USA to try out because I am lousy with directions. Does anyone know if this version is worth the try or should I go straight to the 2006? GSAK gets added tonight..

Garmin City Select might be a better choice than Street Atlas even though it is more expensive. You can upload the maps from City Select to your GPSr and take advantage of the auto-routing capabilities of your 76cs. City Select can also be used on your computer to plan routes and manage waypoints.