View Full Version : Logo for cache pages



brdad
06-28-2006, 04:37 PM
I did gain some ideas from the MGA - why aren't we promoting this site on our cache pages?

So, to answer that I posted the image below in the photo gallery. In the first comment, I added instructions and HTML code which you can cut an paste onto your cache pages which will give you a clickable image.

Instructions are here (http://www.geocachingmaine.org/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/1694/limit/last1)

http://img.geocaching.com/cache/45659da7-eca6-4ef4-8a43-407233fcbb52.jpg

parmachenee
06-28-2006, 04:43 PM
Great idea...and now we will call YOU the guru!! Seriously, we should promote ourselves and this should help. UHHH...have you tried this Dave?

Mainiac1957
06-28-2006, 05:03 PM
I tried one and it isn't displaying the image

becket
06-28-2006, 05:07 PM
I tried one and it isn't displaying the image

waaahhh, me too!

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 05:21 PM
yeah, mine didn't work either, thought maybe i would have a different cut and paste method... I'll just save the image to my photobucket. :D

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 05:24 PM
i think i figure it out!! there's a check box you have to click... it says the descriptions below are in HTML

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 05:25 PM
... but the pic didn't show up

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 05:28 PM
yeah, i just changed the image source to my photobucket page and it works.... so that just means that the image url is wrong...

brdad
06-28-2006, 05:39 PM
hmm, they work find on my cache pages. I linked to an image on gc.com in my old470 cache, maybe it only works on my pages. I copuld link it to this site, I was just trying to get gc.com to bear the bandwidth...

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 05:40 PM
or if anyone wants to link to my photobucket feel free to do so...

<p align="center"><a href=
"<A href="http://www.geocachingmaine.org"><img">http://www.geocachingmaine.org"><img src="http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j201/apmcgarvey/45659da7-eca6-4ef4-8a43-407233fcbb5.jpg"
border="0" alt="PROUD MEMEBER OF GEOCACHINGMAINE.ORG" height=
"101" width="411"></a></p>

that should help keep the bandwidth down... :)

brdad
06-28-2006, 05:49 PM
If rick wants to ok using the image from this site, I can edit for that.

becket
06-28-2006, 05:50 PM
or if anyone wants to link to my photobucket feel free to do so...



well, that was WAY worse! still no logo, and also a box showed up that said "oops, my photobucket..." something or other. that was funny!:D

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 05:52 PM
well it worked fine on all of my pages....unless its just me?? someone look at one of my cache pages and tell me if it's there or not... please... :D

brdad
06-28-2006, 05:52 PM
Ok then, lets use the image from my site! Photobucket may be blocking images to users who aren't logged in. Although, your images shows up for me, hiram....

<p align="center"><a href= "http://www.geocachingmaine.org"><img src="http://www.bytethebullet.com/geocaching/images/mainelogo/gm-member.gif" border="0" alt="PROUD MEMEBER OF GEOCACHINGMAINE.ORG" height= "101" width="411"></a></p>

becket
06-28-2006, 05:57 PM
Ok then, lets use the image from my site!

<p align="center"><a href=
"http://www.geocachingmaine.org"><img src="http://www.bytethebullet.com/geocaching/images/mainelogo/gm-member.gif"
border="0" alt="PROUD MEMEBER OF GEOCACHINGMAINE.ORG" height=
"101" width="411"></a></p>

it worked! thanks so much!

brdad
06-28-2006, 06:14 PM
From what I can tell, the site is altering the code. if someone would try copying the text from
http://www.bytethebullet.com/geocaching/fora/gm-member-code.txt, the gc.com image may still function.

Make sure you select all the text! Edit... select all from the menu...

becket
06-28-2006, 06:24 PM
From what I can tell, the site is altering the code. if someone would try copying the text from
http://www.bytethebullet.com/geocaching/fora/gm-member-code.txt, the gc.com image may still function.

Make sure you select all the text! Edit... select all from the menu...

i'll try it again later - the one of yours that i used messed up all my paragraphs, making everything hard to read.

Haffy
06-28-2006, 06:30 PM
I can speak for Rick and I say go ahead Dave and do what you have to do to make it work correctly. I would love to use the logo on all of my new cache pages. I am a proud and sponsoring member of Geocaching Maine and nothing will change that, not even MGA...:D

dí76
06-28-2006, 06:40 PM
I can speak for Rick and I say go ahead Dave and do what you have to do to make it work correctly. I would love to use the logo on all of my new cache pages. I am a proud and sponsoring member of Geocaching Maine and nothing will change that, not even MGA...:D

So what do you want me to, Haffy??:D

WhereRWe?
06-28-2006, 06:45 PM
I did gain some ideas from the MGA - why aren't we promoting this site on our cache pages?

So, to answer that I posted the image below in the photo gallery. In the first comment, I added instructions and HTML code which you can cut an paste onto your cache pages which will give you a clickable image.



I've been putting a logo on some of our cache pages, and
I know a few others have as well. This is a big help, though. Thanks! :D :D

Hiram357
06-28-2006, 07:00 PM
all of mine are already proudly posted. :D

Haffy
06-28-2006, 07:11 PM
So what is the correct url to use to get it to work? I have tried both ways with no success.

brdad
06-28-2006, 07:28 PM
So what is the correct url to use to get it to work? I have tried both ways with no success.

try my text file - right click this link and choose save link as. save it to your desktop, open it and copy the text inside... FRemember to select all - go to the filemenu and select edit - select all, then select edit - copy

http://www.bytethebullet.com/geocaching/fora/gm-member-code.txt

hollora
06-28-2006, 07:31 PM
Used brdad's html and it works fine. To get the graphic up you have to have the html box clicked (just above the description).

What happens when you do that is your whole description has to be in html or it defaults it to a single paragraph. If anyone knows html please help us with a bit of how to post a line return or paragraph. I think if we put that in where we want our breaks and then paste in brdad's logo we should be all set.

Thanks for this suggestion - I have proudly added the graphic to my two caches.

Quoddy
06-28-2006, 07:32 PM
Thanks....added it to my profile.

brdad
06-28-2006, 07:41 PM
If anyone knows html please help us with a bit of how to post a line return or paragraph. I think if we put that in where we want our breaks and then paste in brdad's logo we should be all set.


encase your paragraghs like

<p> paragragh one </p>
<p> paragragh two </p>

line breaks can be made by adding

<br>

Haffy
06-28-2006, 07:54 PM
It's still greek to me.

brdad
06-28-2006, 07:57 PM
It's still greek to me.

Did you dopwnload that text file?

Haffy
06-28-2006, 08:03 PM
I finally have it saved but don't know how to include it on my cache page.

brdad
06-28-2006, 08:11 PM
I finally have it saved but don't know how to include it on my cache page.

Double-click the file. It will probably open in notepad.

Select Edit from the menu at the top, then click Select all from the list.

Select Edit from the menuat the top, then click Copy from the list.

Open your cache page.

Select Edit Listing.

Make sure the "Descriptions are in HTML" box is checked.

Scroll down to the bottom of the long description. press enter for a line break.

Right click at the bottom of the long sescription and choose Paste.

Check off the agreement boxes.

Click the Edit Listing Button.

hollora
06-28-2006, 08:14 PM
Guess BRDAD beat me to it but here is my lame rendition too - it just needed a quick edit

not to upstage brdad, Haffy, here's my attempt to help you:

Go into your description and click edit

next click off the box for html

at the beginning of each paragraph in your description place a <p> and do the same at the end of a paragraph <p>

If you want a line break just do a <br>

put in either a line break or a paragraph break at the end of your description and then paste in the piece which is brdad's line above

when you click off the boxes, hit edit and go to review you should be all set.

Hope this helps and works. BRDAD thanks for your help too on this [:0]

hollora
06-28-2006, 08:17 PM
brdad - I just read your directions and that is what I did before asking for the html language for a break. It consolidated my paragraphs to a paragraph doing it your way. I am going to go back and try to edit using that html which I think will make the difference.

Working on this together is fun and teaches us all. It is important for us all to include this in our cache listings. Thank you for your help!

hollora
06-28-2006, 08:21 PM
Putting in those breaks <p> for the html worked perfectly to make the paragraphs - and the link works great!. [:)]

Trezurs*-R-*Fun
06-28-2006, 08:22 PM
Who has a logo on there cache page. I'll borrow the address from there.....

Page break </br> for those who want the HTML

hollora
06-28-2006, 08:29 PM
I posted both of my caches and corrected my paragraph issues just a moment ago. (hollora) Rooster Rock and Dead River

hollora
06-28-2006, 08:34 PM
http://www.bytethebullet.com/geocaching/fora/gm-member-code.txt is the file to post in on the bottom. I just used it with the paragraph breaks <p> in my description to make the divisions and it works fine - the link and everything. Don't forget to check of html box.

My postings are at GCVK50 and GCW7B7

Hope this helps.

brdad
06-28-2006, 08:34 PM
Who has a logo on there cache page. I'll borrow the address from there.....

Page break </br> for those who want the HTML

All of mine have them. for example:

EaglEyeStash (http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?ID=81796) (GCGGXG) by brdad (http://www.geocaching.com/profile/default.asp?A=61905) (3/3)

Trezurs*-R-*Fun
06-28-2006, 08:56 PM
All of mine have them. for example:

EaglEyeStash (http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?ID=81796) (GCGGXG) by brdad (http://www.geocaching.com/profile/default.asp?A=61905) (3/3)

Yeah I'm using this code:


<!-- Add to the end of the cache listing...also make sure its before the </body> </html> tags -->
<br>
<br>
<p align="center"><a href="http://www.geocachingmaine.org"><img (http://www.geocachingmaine.org%22%3e%3cimg/) border="0" src=
"http://img.geocaching.com/cache/45659da7-eca6-4ef4-8a43-407233fcbb52.jpg"
width="410" height="101"></a></p>




It adds the link to the picture to bring people to geocachingmaine.org

Haffy
06-28-2006, 09:04 PM
Yeah it works great,I just added it to all my cache pages and it is awesome. Thanks for helping me work this through TRF you da man......:D

Trezurs*-R-*Fun
06-28-2006, 09:07 PM
Thank BrDad for the great suggestion....All of my listing are now updated with the hyperlinked logo!!!!


Cache On!!!!!!

Beach Comber
06-28-2006, 09:08 PM
Awesome!! I am now a proud user of the logo!! Thanks Dave!!

dí76
06-28-2006, 09:09 PM
Awesome!! I am now a proud user of the logo!! Thanks Dave!!

Geezzz if Judy can figure it out I will have to give it a try

Haffy
06-28-2006, 09:12 PM
I think this should be a prewequisite for publishing all of our caches pages now for all members of Geocaching Maine.

Haffy
06-28-2006, 09:15 PM
Geezzz if Judy can figure it out I will have to give it a try


What do you mean if Judy can figure it out....hell if I can figure it out anyone can......:eek:

dí76
06-28-2006, 09:17 PM
yah no sweat. I got it

attroll
06-29-2006, 12:51 AM
I just edited this image and made it clearer and added it to the link to us page. This page is on our web site. Some of you may not have known about this page but it has always been there. Check out this page.

http://www.geocachingmaine.org/links/misc.php?do=linktous

brdad
06-29-2006, 05:26 AM
Very cool, Rick!

Is there a link to these images somewhere on the mai9n web page? I didn't even know you had the others...

Edit: Oh, I see it now. I wonder if there is a way to make this page more available to us users that forget to look in the back corners of the web site....

Beach Comber
06-29-2006, 06:38 AM
I think this should be a prewequisite for publishing all of our caches pages now for all members of Geocaching Maine.

gulp - that sounds like a rule - lol

Beach Comber
06-29-2006, 06:39 AM
Geezzz if Judy can figure it out I will have to give it a try

You can do it!! Be brave :p

Mainiac1957
06-29-2006, 07:04 AM
gulp - that sounds like a rule - lol
Judy... I'll grab my pitchfork and you bring the torch.:D :p

parmachenee
06-29-2006, 07:24 AM
Judy... I'll grab my pitchfork and you bring the torch.:D :p

"We don't need no stinkin' rules!!":D

Trezurs*-R-*Fun
06-29-2006, 07:43 AM
"We don't need no stinkin' rules!!":D



Parmachenee for President of the AGA!!!
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/53/Skull_and_crossbones.svg/180px-Skull_and_crossbones.svg.png



(Anarchical Geocaching Association)



Anarchic: Absents of government. Lawless confusion and political disorder or general diorder
pertaining to absents of government.

becket
06-29-2006, 07:44 AM
Parmachenee for President of the AGA!!!
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/53/Skull_and_crossbones.svg/180px-Skull_and_crossbones.svg.png





(Anarchical Geocaching Association)




Anarchic: Absents of government. Lawless confusion and political disorder or general diorder
pertaining to absents of government.



now, that's one i WILL join! :D

attroll
06-29-2006, 02:04 PM
Very cool, Rick!

Is there a link to these images somewhere on the mai9n web page? I didn't even know you had the others...

Edit: Oh, I see it now. I wonder if there is a way to make this page more available to us users that forget to look in the back corners of the web site....
It is not directly on the web site in plain site. It is in the links section. The reason being is that it was created for other web sites wanting to link to us. So you would have to click on LINKS in the navbar and then you should see LINK TO US in the links navbar.

firefighterjake
06-29-2006, 03:08 PM
Very cool Rick . . . never knew about that feature. All of my caches now have the geocachingmaine.org logo/link . . . and for the record I am indeed proud to be associated with this bulletin board.

parmachenee
06-29-2006, 03:34 PM
now, that's one i WILL join! :D

My wife leaves me alone for a week...and now I'm an anarchist?!:eek: At least the dishes are done and the house is clean. :D

Hiram357
06-29-2006, 05:09 PM
Judy... I'll grab my pitchfork and you bring the torch.:D :p

I'll distract the cops! :D

dí76
06-29-2006, 05:50 PM
I'll distract the cops! :D

Hows that Hiram....
By caching after dark in a place that you are not supposed to be.:p :D

Hiram357
06-29-2006, 06:00 PM
Hows that Hiram....
By caching after dark in a place that you are not supposed to be.:p :D

i have my ways... why does that trick work too??? :rolleyes:

WhereRWe?
06-29-2006, 07:51 PM
My wife leaves me alone for a week...and now I'm an anarchist?!:eek: At least the dishes are done and the house is clean. :D

Eating off paper plates and sleeping in the tent, huh? LOL!

RULOST2? left me for a week in March. I usually do all the cooking at home, but while she was gone, it was TV dinners and pot pies for me! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Hiram357
06-29-2006, 08:48 PM
Eating off paper plates and sleeping in the tent, huh? LOL!

RULOST2? left me for a week in March. I usually do all the cooking at home, but while she was gone, it was TV dinners and pot pies for me! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

stef doesn't like chicken so when she's gone i usually O.D. on the KFC :D

attroll
06-30-2006, 01:14 AM
OK. now the question is where is everyone putting the logo on their cache pages. Are you putting them at the top of the cache pages or the bottom. I am leaning towards the bottom. What is everyone else going to do?

parmachenee
06-30-2006, 05:39 AM
OK. now the question is where is everyone putting the logo on their cache pages. Are you putting them at the top of the cache pages or the bottom. I am leaning towards the bottom. What is everyone else going to do?

I like the bottom of the page...but I'm not making any rules!!:D

brdad
06-30-2006, 05:41 AM
I put all mine on the bottom. It's all about the numbers. Let them find their cache, then come to our site.

I think this is a great way to promote the site. It's the only media that all new cachers view, since they are either looking at the online pages or printing them out.

Which I will have to check out when I load my PDA this morning - Rick's version does not have any ALT text for the image and mine does - I wonder if the ALT text shows up on cachemate pages? I guess a line of text could be aded under the image as well, as Rick's page suggests. But there are a few haffys:cool: , err I mean people that need everything all set up so they can pate it all in their page.

WhereRWe?
06-30-2006, 06:24 AM
stef doesn't like chicken so when she's gone i usually O.D. on the KFC :D

Sheesh! We've had more chicken since we've been in "The South": Bojangles, Popeye's, Mrs. Winner's - so many chickens, so little time... :D :D

firefighterjake
06-30-2006, 07:00 AM
OK. now the question is where is everyone putting the logo on their cache pages. Are you putting them at the top of the cache pages or the bottom. I am leaning towards the bottom. What is everyone else going to do?

The answer for me is . . . YES.

Some caches I have placed the banner at the top before the clue and on some I have placed it at the bottom after the description (I am one of those folks who consistently likes to be inconsistent.) In some cases I even pasted two banners -- one with the "proud" banner and one with the regular "GCmaine" banner -- on the cache page.

brdad
06-30-2006, 07:06 AM
The answer for me is . . . YES.

Some caches I have placed the banner at the top before the clue and on some I have placed it at the bottom after the description (I am one of those folks who consistently likes to be inconsistent.) In some cases I even pasted two banners -- one with the "proud" banner and one with the regular "GCmaine" banner -- on the cache page.

Ok, sometimes you are humorous to be humorous. But I didn't sence humor in this post. Yet....

Wouldn't a logo placed after the description and a logo before the hints be in the same place????? :D

firefighterjake
06-30-2006, 07:20 AM
Ok, sometimes you are humorous to be humorous. But I didn't sence humor in this post. Yet....

Wouldn't a logo placed after the description and a logo before the hints be in the same place????? :D

You are correct BRDad-son . . . your spider . . . I mean geo-sense about my sense of humor is correct. There was no intention to be humorous.

And I stand corrected . . . I meant to say I have a banner after the description in some cases and before the short description -- not the hints -- in other cases . . . and in some cases at both locations.

I am thinking BRDad-son that you may have to challenge Parmachenee-son for the title of geocaching guru if you continue to be as sharp as this!:D

Hiram357
06-30-2006, 10:25 AM
OK. now the question is where is everyone putting the logo on their cache pages. Are you putting them at the top of the cache pages or the bottom. I am leaning towards the bottom. What is everyone else going to do?

Well Rick, In an effort to make mine as visable as possible, I put all of my banners at the end of the cache description, because time has proven over and over again that people just skip right over that stuff. :D

Kacky
06-30-2006, 01:52 PM
What a nice logo. Thanks for doing this!

Team2hunt
06-30-2006, 04:22 PM
My wife leaves me alone for a week...and now I'm an anarchist?!:eek: At least the dishes are done and the house is clean. :D

And I bet the beer is ALL gone too!! :rolleyes:

Hiram357
07-07-2006, 07:20 PM
Hey Rick, I like the Katahdin page logo!! :D

Sudonim
07-07-2006, 08:18 PM
Hey Rick, I like the Katahdin page logo!! :D

Me too. Just logged in and that was my first thought.
...although if Hiram likes it, maybe I don't:p




beer, it's what's for dinner

Hiram357
07-07-2006, 08:26 PM
Me too. Just logged in and that was my first thought.
...although if Hiram likes it, maybe I don't:p




beer, it's what's for dinner

i see how it is... fine... i don't like it just so everyone else will... :mad: :rolleyes:

Beach Comber
07-07-2006, 09:29 PM
Hey Rick, I like the Katahdin page logo!! :D

It looks great!!

WhereRWe?
07-08-2006, 07:13 AM
Hey Rick, I like the Katahdin page logo!! :D

I like it, and I have nothing against Hiram liking it, too. :D :D

Mainiac1957
07-08-2006, 07:18 AM
Very nice Rick

parmachenee
07-08-2006, 08:17 AM
It looks great!!


A BIG DITTO on that one.:)

Pooh and friends
07-08-2006, 11:10 AM
Hey Rick, I like the Katahdin page logo!! :D


Love it!! I grew up in Millinocket so the mountain will alaways have a special place with me. Thanks Rick!:)

MoxieMan
07-13-2006, 01:34 PM
I've successfully applied the Geo Maine logo onto one of my cache pages, but it's not where I want it. How can I move it to another location and also can anyone give me code to make a background for a cache page?

Thanks,
Dave

Haffy
07-13-2006, 03:25 PM
Well Dave you can just go to the edit page of your cache page and delete it and then put it where you want it to go. A far as the code goes,what I do is download whatever I want to Photobucket and they have an excellent code and html maker for whatever you would like. Just copy and post the code that they have created for you and it works great.

Haffy
07-13-2006, 03:26 PM
Well Dave you can just go to the edit page of your cache page and delete it and then put it where you want it to go. A far as the code goes,what I do is download whatever I want to Photobucket and they have an excellent code and html maker for whatever you would like. Just copy and post the code that they have created for you and it works great. Just make sure that you check off where is says use HTML. Here is the link to photobucket.

http://www.photobucket.com/

WhereRWe?
07-13-2006, 04:28 PM
Sheesh! I'm seeing double again! :p :p

MoxieMan
07-13-2006, 07:19 PM
Haffy, thanks. That's how I originally got the pic into the cache page...but now even if I hti "enter" a few times so it's not on the same line, it ends up there anyway. just a bit frustrating.

attroll
07-14-2006, 12:51 AM
Haffy, thanks. That's how I originally got the pic into the cache page...but now even if I hti "enter" a few times so it's not on the same line, it ends up there anyway. just a bit frustrating.

If you have html turn on for your pages then type "<br>". For each time you type this it will be the same as hitting your enter key once. So if you type the following below it will give you one or two empty lines.

<br>
<br>

MoxieMan
07-14-2006, 07:59 AM
thanks attroll...i'll try that

I guess I just need html for dummies

firefighterjake
07-14-2006, 08:40 AM
Sheesh! I'm seeing double again! :p :p

Me too . . . and I haven't even been drinking. :D

firefighterjake
07-14-2006, 08:41 AM
thanks attroll...i'll try that

I guess I just need html for dummies

If it's any consolation it took me a bit to learn how to utilize the html code for cache pages . . . thankfully the folks here are pretty smart here and they set me on the right path.

LaughingTerry
07-15-2006, 02:04 PM
<img src="http://home.gwi.net/~tkl/GeoMaine.jpg"> Why can't I make an image work? I put in the URL.

<img>
(http://www.geocachingmaine.org/)

brdad
07-15-2006, 08:59 PM
<img src="http://home.gwi.net/~tkl/GeoMaine.jpg"> Why can't I make an image work? I put in the URL.

<img>
(http://www.geocachingmaine.org/)

I just tried your code on one of my cache pages temporarily and it worked fine. Perhaps you need to refresh your browser?

LaughingTerry
07-15-2006, 10:08 PM
I just tried your code on one of my cache pages temporarily and it worked fine. Perhaps you need to refresh your browser?

It works fine on my cache pages. I just can't seem to make it work here.

brdad
07-16-2006, 06:26 AM
It works fine on my cache pages. I just can't seem to make it work here.


Hmm, I just tried that and see now. I'd almost guess gwi is blocking remote images in some cases.

Theeasiest workaround for this may be to upload the image to one of your cache pages, then link to that image.

attroll
07-17-2006, 11:11 AM
<img src="http://home.gwi.net/~tkl/GeoMaine.jpg"> Why can't I make an image work? I put in the URL.
<img>

If your trying to put it in a post in this thread it will not work. I have html turn of for this forum.

Hiram357
07-17-2006, 09:34 PM
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j201/apmcgarvey/45659da7-eca6-4ef4-8a43-407233fcbb5.jpg

:P

attroll
07-18-2006, 01:51 AM
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j201/apmcgarvey/45659da7-eca6-4ef4-8a43-407233fcbb5.jpg

:P
This is a cleaner looking image here:
http://www.geocachingmaine.org/logos/GM-large.gif

RanMan22
07-18-2006, 06:15 AM
This is a cleaner looking image here:
http://www.geocachingmaine.org/logos/GM-large.gif

ROFL -- I think his point was that you said you had HTML turned off, but he was able to post an HTML embedded image. :) :)

-RanMan22

attroll
07-18-2006, 11:58 AM
ROFL -- I think his point was that you said you had HTML turned off, but he was able to post an HTML embedded image. :) :)

-RanMan22
Yes HTML is turned off but I think using HTML code the first time. This time I think he used the picture link. I may be wrong though. Oh well he got it.