View Full Version : Swiss Army Knife



attroll
09-13-2004, 11:37 AM
I have had the Geocaching Swiss Army Knife software for a while now. I played with it once and never touched it again until this last week. Once I had the time to play with it this last week I could not believe all that it does. There is probably still more that I have not found yet. I think I will spend the $20 to get it. This beats the EasyGPS program by a long shot. Once I learned my way around it I fell in love with it. I like that I can upload my query's from GC to it and then upload them to my GPS and the names are shown on my GPS and not the GC numbers. Does anyone else use this program. Lets here some more inputs.

WhereRWe?
09-13-2004, 12:25 PM
I use GSAK and like it very well.

The registered version is better 'cause you always get notifications of updates.

EGSG
09-13-2004, 05:15 PM
I been using GSAK for some time and love it. I especially like the filtering capabilities. We are planning a trip to Texas this fall. The PQs gave me about 3000 caches on the way. With GSAK I was able to filter that down to about 250, that are within 10 miles of our route.

Beach Comber
09-13-2004, 07:39 PM
I've been playing with EasyGPS a little for a few weeks and after this weekend am motivated even more to move toward paperless. The notebook has to go - just another thing I'm getting ridiculed about - LOL! Fortunately, I have a good sense of humor ;) Looks like this program is worth checking out - I look forward to hearing more about it from those using it!

Cache'n Jacksons
09-14-2004, 06:54 AM
I agree, GSAK is an incredibly powerful tool, and it keeps getting better. One of the recent versions can now export directly to CacheMate, and it even queues up the file to go on my Palm the next HotSync! For some reason it won't talk directly to my Garmin GPSIII, though, but it only takes a few seconds to send everything over to EasyGPS.

parmachenee
09-16-2004, 02:55 PM
GSAK will also export a text file that you can hotsync to Street Atlas for the Palm that shows all the cache locations by Name or any other detail you want to export.

Mainiac1957
09-16-2004, 06:15 PM
Where do you go to send them to Street Atlas. That is something I can use.

parmachenee
09-16-2004, 09:02 PM
If you have version 2005, go to online support and updates ,http://www.delorme.com/support/streetatlas/sa2005hh.asp, and download the Advanced File Management update. Install it and choose the advanced option during installation. Run GSAK and filter whatever you want for caches. Go to File and Export Street Atlas Text file. This is my path to the SAVE location: C:\DeLorme Docs\Mobile Maps\Wpts Transfer\file.name….yours may be different but shouldn’t be if you installed on the C: drive. Under Cache Description Format you can put %NAME for the full name or %SMART for abbreviated name. Click on GENERATE and it will save the file to the above directory. If you check the BEGIN NOTE box, it will create the file ready to sync to the PALM. I cut and paste the file into the XXMapHHWptsSend.txt file between the BEGIN SYMBOL and END points. Just sync your palm and you should have all the caches on your Palm. Simple. :D Just be careful not to upload the same caches again or they will show up as multiples on your map. Filter by date placed or whatever you need to have only new ones in the export file. Easy as pie!! ;) ...you don't need the update with version 2004.

Beach Comber
09-16-2004, 09:08 PM
LOL Is anyone else's head spinning!?!?! I'm excited about the paperless approach, but clearly have a bit to learn ;)

Haffy
09-16-2004, 09:15 PM
Did I hear Parmachenee say simple? I guess that is my nickname because that is all Greek to me.....lol. Maybe that is what WhereRwe was looking for Street Atlas to do for him as he was asking just that at the event the other day. You getting this at all Bruce? Seems like this is your answer.

Haffy
09-16-2004, 09:26 PM
Are there any good tutorials out there that anyone knows of for using GSAK? It seems kind of daunting for me but it sure does have a lot of stuff.

WhereRWe?
09-17-2004, 07:22 AM
Did I hear Parmachenee say simple? I guess that is my nickname because that is all Greek to me.....lol. Maybe that is what WhereRwe was looking for Street Atlas to do for him as he was asking just that at the event the other day. You getting this at all Bruce? Seems like this is your answer.

Parmachenee is using a different procedure than I was using. I didn't know you could do this from Street Atlas Handheld (I knew you could download waypoints as routes, but it included a line between each waypoint). I just changed my SAHH to advanced file management, and will try his method.

I have both Street Atlas 2005 and Topo USA 2005 for PC, and it's an easy procedure to upload/download waypoints to/from those and your GPS/PDA.

I won't post instructions here - I see you're confused enough already Haffy - but if anyone has questions they can email me.

(Oh - and I'm currently online from some low priced motel in Wells, Maine. Don't know whose wireless network I'm on, but I LOVE IT!!! And I took thast darn TB to New Hampshire...)


http://www.geocaching.com/track/details.aspx?id=89766

Cache'n Jacksons
09-18-2004, 02:27 PM
Are there any good tutorials out there that anyone knows of for using GSAK? It seems kind of daunting for me but it sure does have a lot of stuff.Here is page I found that talks about using GSAK:

http://65.34.18.106/content.php?article.15

That should get you through loading a bunch of caches into it. After that, you will probably want to define your home coordinates, so you can sort your caches by distance from home. You do this at Tools, Options, Locations. Use Centre Point, Home to sort caches by distance from your house. You can also sort the list by clicking on any column. This is handy for putting caches in alphabetical order, finding recently placed caches, or putting the easy terrains together.

If your mouse has a scroll wheel, you can roll it to maneuver through your list of caches. If you right-click on a cache, you will get a pop-up menu with a ton of links based on that cache or coordinates. You can bring up the cache on the Geocaching.com website, or open up any number of map websites (Custom URL). You can also set this cache as a new center point, very handy when you are planning on hitting a bunch at one time.

If you haven't done so yet, you will also want to tell GSAK your Geocaching.com username. This will allow it to color-code your found caches. Another very powerful feature is the filter (under Search, Filter...). For example, if I wanted to look for all of YOP's caches that I haven't found within a 50 mile radius of my home, I'd first set my center point to "Home", then start a filter where "Distance" is "Less than or equal to" "50" miles, uncheck the found box, "Placed By" "Contains" "Prospector". I could also uncheck the Archived Box if I didn't care to see any caches that were not available for finding. When I am done with that filter, just click "Search, Cancel Filter".

That should at least get you up and running with it. Play around with the buttons to see what else is under the hood. I just registered my copy a couple days ago and got a nice note back from Clyde with my serial number. I also got word from Smitty that CacheMate4 should be out in a couple days. :)

Pooh and friends
09-26-2004, 10:24 AM
I like it! Just downloaded it last night and have been playing with it since. I loaded all the caches that I havn't gone to yet (within 50 mile radius) into it, changed the waypoints from .loc to .gpx files using the export part then accessed them in usaphoto maps to see where the clusters are. I really like being able to sort them by direction of travel. Its nice the way they linked the cache pages also, its real handy for people like me that has yet to go paperless yet. Has any one tried the mapping software, oziexplore yet? GSAK has my head swimming :eek:

attroll
09-26-2004, 11:15 AM
I like it! Just downloaded it last night and have been playing with it since. I loaded all the caches that I havn't gone to yet (within 50 mile radius) into it, changed the waypoints from .loc to .gpx files using the export part then accessed them in usaphoto maps to see where the clusters are. I really like being able to sort them by direction of travel. Its nice the way they linked the cache pages also, its real handy for people like me that has yet to go paperless yet. Has any one tried the mapping software, oziexplore yet? GSAK has my head swimming :eek:
Yes I have tried it with Delorme Topo 5.0 and it puts all the waypoints in there. It is great. I will never use East GPS again.

attroll
11-13-2004, 10:10 PM
Parmachee

Great I love it. If you put a lot of waypoints in your hand held then it is slow searching through them. The only draw back that I see if if you want to deleate a bunch of them, it takes forever doing it one at a time. Can you do that in a large ammount without doing it one at a time?

WhereRWe?
11-14-2004, 07:13 AM
Parmachee

Great I love it. If you put a lot of waypoints in your hand held then it is slow searching through them. The only draw back that I see if if you want to deleate a bunch of them, it takes forever doing it one at a time. Can you do that in a large ammount without doing it one at a time?

ATROLL -

Are you deleting from GSAK or your handheld?

If handheld, are you using CacheMate?

In GSAK, I use filters a lot to get the group of caches I want to work with. When I get too much garbage in the GSAK database, I just delete it and get a new pocket query.

In CacheMate, deleting is easy - but email me and I'll try and help.

attroll
11-14-2004, 10:27 AM
No I am talking about deleteling the 546 waypoints that I have in my Handeld in Street Atlas. I imported them like Parmachenee said. Now I regret doing all 546 at one time. So I was trying to delete at least 200 of them so I did not have so many in there. It slows down my handheld a little when I am looking through the waypoints.

WhereRWe?
11-14-2004, 05:46 PM
No I am talking about deleteling the 546 waypoints that I have in my Handeld in Street Atlas. I imported them like Parmachenee said. Now I regret doing all 546 at one time. So I was trying to delete at least 200 of them so I did not have so many in there. It slows down my handheld a little when I am looking through the waypoints.

Ah - now THAT is a good question.

The data miust be there in a file - as it was imported to the PDA - and you should be able to delete that and import a new, smaller file.

But how to do that... I'll have to play with this some... I can't seem to do it either right now, but you must be able to delete more than one at a time...

attroll
11-14-2004, 11:34 PM
Ah - now THAT is a good question.

The data miust be there in a file - as it was imported to the PDA - and you should be able to delete that and import a new, smaller file.

But how to do that... I'll have to play with this some... I can't seem to do it either right now, but you must be able to delete more than one at a time...
I just got done writing to DeLorme and asking them how to do it. Here is the message I posted to them:



I have over 500 waypoints on my handheld and I want to delete them all or just a bunch of them. Is there a way of doing this without having to delete them one at a time?
I will explain how I imported them.
I went to my DeLorme Doc\Mobile Mps\Wpts Transfer\ XMapHHWptsSend and put the following in between the BEGIN SYMBOL and END statements and did a sync with my handheld. This put all my waypoints that I stuck between these statements on my handheld maps. I also noticed that once I did this my DeLorme Doc\Mobile Mps\Wpts Transfer\ XMapHHWptsRcv file had the same statements added to it automatically. Hoe does this coincide with this?
Here is just a small portion of what was added between the statements. I see no reason to include the whole file:
BEGIN SYMBOL
45.6612999439,-67.8650499582,1.5 million dollar view by kb1g
45.5256170034,-69.4324330091,3 Michiganders in ME by Drestin
46.6134829521,-68.0133329630,A.S.P. by team-pine (1/3.5),4,1,1
44.8380670547,-69.2840329409,A Cache for Mom and Dad by AbbysGrammy (1/1),2,1,1
43.8084330559,-69.8150000572,A dam close thing by Team Chucky Cheese (2/3),2,1,1
45.1401499510,-69.9588170052,A different view of Wyman Lake by Smitty & Co. (1/1),2,1,1
43.2313669920,-70.6830329895,Agamenticus2 by JaKaching (3/3.5),2,1,1
44.6745500565,-68.7532670498,A King's Cache by parmachenee (2/2.5),2,1,1
END

Is there hope here?

attroll
11-15-2004, 12:43 AM
This is what I got for a reply from DeLorme. I can not find the file they are talking about but I am still looking:


I have over 500 waypoints on my handheld and I want to delete them all or just a bunch of them. Is there a way of doing this without having to delete them one at a time?
I think you have a Palm from some of your posts, but you didn't specifically say, but this works for it. If you have any file management utility on the PDA, then delete the file XMapWptsDB. A new empty file will be created the next time you fire up SA2005HH on the PDA. Before you sync next time, make a copy of the XMapHHWptsRcv file if you want to save the stuff because the next time you hotsync it will be empty.




I went to my DeLorme Doc\Mobile Mps\Wpts Transfer\ XMapHHWptsSend and put the following in between the BEGIN SYMBOL and END statements and did a sync with my handheld. This put all my waypoints that I stuck between these statements on my handheld maps. I also noticed that once I did this my DeLorme Doc\Mobile Mps\Wpts Transfer\ XMapHHWptsRcv file had the same statements added to it automatically. Hoe does this coincide with this?
This happens because when you sync, it picks up the data in the XMapHHWptsSend file, and adds it to the XMapWptsDB file on the PDA, which then gets backed up to the XMapHHWptsRcv file on the PC.

attroll
11-15-2004, 01:06 AM
I found the file they were talking about. It is on my main memory of my Palm. But I had to download a file manager to see it. You can not see it with anything that come standard with the Zire 72.

WhereRWe?
11-15-2004, 07:41 AM
What file manager did you download?

Mainiac1957
11-15-2004, 08:22 AM
Yes do tell what you downloaded for a file manager.

parmachenee
11-15-2004, 10:57 AM
That would be a handy tool. I'd be interested to know where you got it too. Actually, I found it on www.download.com. The file is called FileZ 5.3.2. You can find it if you do a search for file manager for Palm.

Mainiac1957
11-15-2004, 12:58 PM
I tried the file manager you suggested and it worked like a charm. Delete the file that DeLorme said and they all go bye bye. Now I can load only the ones in the area I'm caching at.

attroll
11-15-2004, 02:51 PM
I will attach the one I downloaded to this message.

parmachenee
11-15-2004, 03:56 PM
This is a newer version than 5.3.2 by the same person. You can read the version history with the adobe file in the extraction.

RanMan22
11-16-2004, 07:18 AM
I found the file they were talking about. It is on my main memory of my Palm. But I had to download a file manager to see it. You can not see it with anything that come standard with the Zire 72.

I'm a little surprised that your Palm didn't come with some sort of a file manager. It may have been an option to install when you did your initial software installation? I could be very wrong, just seems odd that it wouldn't come with something basic like that.

-RanMan

WhereRWe?
11-16-2004, 07:29 AM
Mine didn't come with one. But the program discussed here seems very good if you ned one...