View Full Version : Post Pics



robt
07-08-2006, 10:39 PM
How Do I post pictures in a cache entry? I have most of it done but need to put the pictures to make it make sense.

RobT

brdad
07-09-2006, 06:08 AM
Go back to cache page, scroll down to your log and choose the [upload an image for this log] link that is right below your log. The images need to be less than 600 pixels or they will be resized anyway.

robt
07-09-2006, 02:07 PM
Go back to cache page, scroll down to your log and choose the [upload an image for this log] link that is right below your log. The images need to be less than 600 pixels or they will be resized anyway.

I am trying to add it to the cache description not to a log entry. I have tried to save it as html but the pics come up with an x not the picture.
I really need to learn HTML :)

brdad
07-09-2006, 02:58 PM
Ah. Well you have two issues to consider.

First the HTML...

<img border="0" src="http://img.groundspeak.com/cache/81796_200.gif" alt="1424344754667516283340516372" width="520" height="310">

In this example from one of my caches...

border="0" This tels how wide a border if any is around the image.
http://img.groundspeak.com/cache/81796_200.gif is the filename and location of the picture.
alt="1424344754667516283340516372" is the text that will show up on a mouseover, or if the image cannot load. this can be ommited.
width="520" height="310" Tells the size of the image.

So, if that much is right, it depends on where the image is located. On mine, I uploaded the picture to the cache page (link in the top right of your cache page). From there, if you go to the cache's gallery, you can right click the picture and choose image properties and get the url and filename of the photo you uploaded to put into the html.

If you are hosting the image elsewhere, you will have to find the image url for it to work right. You can't link to an image on your computer.

Haffy
07-09-2006, 04:21 PM
Hey Robt, I have been using Photobucket lately for images to load to and they even have a great HTML and IMG code creator so you can just use that. Here is the link for them. And it is free, my favorite word. :D http://www.photobucket.com/

robt
07-09-2006, 09:56 PM
Now I really am confused, I changed all the links to referance the correct location but they still are not working.... This is frustrating.......

Haffy
07-09-2006, 10:04 PM
Just download the pics to Photobucket like I said and it can create all the code for you that is needed to download to the cache page. I works really well.

brdad
07-10-2006, 05:20 AM
Now I really am confused, I changed all the links to referance the correct location but they still are not working.... This is frustrating.......

Can you copy the HTML you are using here so we can see just that you are doing? Or, if it's part of a puzzle cache email it to me and I will look at it personally so as not to give it away to everyone.

robt
07-10-2006, 08:06 AM
Can you copy the HTML you are using here so we can see just that you are doing? Or, if it's part of a puzzle cache email it to me and I will look at it personally so as not to give it away to everyone.

It will not let me post it here, what is your email and I will send it to you tonight.

Thanks
rob

robt
07-10-2006, 09:49 PM
ok, I got it, I ended up putting it into a different editor and stripped out all the mess that office put in and it now works :)

Thanks for the help