View Full Version : new to geocaching

caro
07-15-2006, 09:53 AM
My name is Carolyn and I am a science teacher at Halldale. My son gave me the GPS for my birthday and I tried it out for the first time yesterday. to no avail I guess the acronym is dnf?

RanMan22
07-15-2006, 09:59 AM
Hi there, Carolyn.

That's great that you have a new GPSr and want to get out and try some geocaching -- it's really quite fun.

Where did you first run in to problems? Were you able to pick out a geocache to try to find? Were you able to get the co-ordinates into your GPSr (GPS Receiver)?

There's a great group of people here. I'm sure we can help you out!

-RanMan22

caro
07-15-2006, 10:12 AM
I found a cache locally, I used paper because I couldn't upload and then I got to the cache but couldn''t find it.

WhereRWe?
07-15-2006, 12:24 PM
My name is Carolyn and I am a science teacher at Halldale. My son gave me the GPS for my birthday and I tried it out for the first time yesterday. to no avail I guess the acronym is dnf?

What GPSr do you have? At a minimum, you should be able to print the cache page from geocaching.com, then manually enter the coordinates for the cache into the GPSr. Without the cache coordinates in the GPSr, you can find caches but it's a LOT harder! :D :D

Haffy
07-15-2006, 01:13 PM
Hey Caro,glad that you came here for some instruction. We have a lot of very informed people here who can help you out with most anything. Have you considered maybe contacting someone who is already a veteran cacher so to speak and getting together with them? That is what I did and we became good friends. That is how we feel about most everyone here who is a member, we are just one big happy family. I would suggest that when you look for caches that are in your area there is a good chance that you could email that person who hid the cache and I'm sure they would be more than willing to help you get started.