View Full Version : mapsource topo and apple computer

12-28-2006, 12:00 PM
Would some of the folks that are using Apple computers help out and tell me how to get topo usa on an Apple, Andy you are the first one that comes to mind. Any help would be great. I am starting to think that the two are not compatible.

Thanks folks

12-28-2006, 01:52 PM
Which Topo USA are you trying to use?

12-28-2006, 02:30 PM
Which Topo USA are you trying to use?

Mapsource topo usa

12-28-2006, 03:22 PM
Not sure if this will be any help Dave but you might check this out.

12-28-2006, 05:15 PM
You don't want to ask me, I'm still wrestling with getting pocket queries to load into my new 60CSx :o
I had a patch to load into my etrex vista on a usb to serial adapter, but with the new usb GPSr, the Garmin interface is pretty sketchy. They made a press announcement a year ago that they would have software for the Mac, I opened mine on Christmas Day and just PC.
I'm going to try some more, but doesn't look promising, might have to load waypoints manually, or go back to the Vista :(

12-28-2006, 09:08 PM
Think Apple and .......Magellan! :p Sorry, I couldn't resist.

12-28-2006, 09:12 PM
Think Apple and .......Magellan! :p Sorry, I couldn't resist.


Sadly, we've been doing such a good job of converting people to Garmin - and especially the 60csx - that we totally forgot that people may still be using toy computers! :p :p


12-30-2006, 05:28 AM
We ended up using someone elses PC to load my Garmin

12-30-2006, 07:40 AM
with the growing number of mac users you would think that garmin would have figure out how to do this. Do magellan users have the ability to down load maps using an apple?:confused:

12-30-2006, 08:56 AM
they are planning a beta version for January,

12-30-2006, 08:58 AM
But it is really cool map. and a lot more roads than I had with the original map. I'm not travelling across blank space anymore.