View Full Version : (OT) Tired of Your Current Browser?

WhereRWe?
12-28-2004, 09:09 AM
(Disclaimer: the writer was NOT Paid for this commercial message)

Tired of Netscape or Microsoft Internet Explorer? Want something better? Try the best thing since either: Mozilla FireFox. It based on Netscape, but does every thing Netscape doesn't, and gets rid of all Netscape's bad habits. I've been using it for a week and LOVE IT!

Since I've used primarily Netscape for years, what's great is that it looks almost like Netscape, and will automatically transfer all your bookmarks, email addresses, and other settings - from either Netscape or IE.

http://www.mozilla.org/

And want a BETTER mail client? Try Mozilla ThunderBird. From the same site.

http://www.mozilla.org/

:D

tat
12-28-2004, 10:32 AM
I started using Firefox earlier in this month and use it almost exclusively.

I switched because hackers seem to be targeting IE too often and too aggressively. I'm no expert, so, i have no idea how to quantitatively say it is or isn't working.

I am very happy with Firefox, but, I have had a few issues to work out. I cannot get .pdf files to open, and I haven't found a "composer" view or a window to develop javascript. So, I still use Netscape sometimes.

Also, IE is a requirement for every virus software package I've seen. I hacked out a workaround for McAfee. Do you know of any virus packages that allow Firefox?

Beach Comber
12-28-2004, 02:54 PM
What does "(OT)" mean in the thread title?

tat
12-28-2004, 04:39 PM
It is used to alert everyone that the discussion has nothing to do with the (in this case) Geocaching.

Haffy
12-28-2004, 05:11 PM