View Full Version : Geocachingmaine and School

d’76
05-01-2007, 09:14 PM
As many of you know I work in a school for kids that cant handle main stream schooling, when you spend your whole day with these kids that struggle through life everyday you look for any reason to get them to look at the plus sides of life and maybe get out from behind the video games and outdoors a bit. I used geocaching.com to introduce them to the game and geocachingmaine.org to show them some of the great photos that this state has to offer. Frequently, you would notice a spark of interest and then they would start asking questions about are there any near their house. Often I could show them on the computer about how far from their house they where. I thought this was very cool. Something other than negitivity and loveless relationships at home, maybe being outside and family adventure.

It was last week that I noticed that I could no longer show the students these things. The filter system in the school had changed. When I requested that the filter allow gcmaine to be bypassed I was told that the site was not appropriate for students. The message I recieved was as follows:

Sorry Dave.
I have seen a lot on the forums that the kids should not see.
If you truly want to show them something about Geocaching then go to GC.com.

I can honestly say was somewhat displease. I would be interested in knowing how some of the other members feel.:( :mad:

Sudonim
05-01-2007, 10:51 PM
I know that things got a little heated in the forums, but I think that blew over a year ago...or longer. People have been playing pretty well with others IMO.

Haffy
05-01-2007, 11:04 PM