View Full Version : Geo Caching Safety

Wolf207
05-07-2008, 09:23 AM
I am new to Geo Caching, but one concern I have is safety.Today there seems to be heavy security concerns everywhere you travel. Everyone is concerned about the next terrorist attack that will happen. So my thought is what safety steps can a geo cacher take both in setting up a new cache or searching for caches to prevent against the rough "geo cache terrorist" from booby trapping a cache with something harmful? I know the majority of malicious people in the world probably would not be hiking in the back woods for the sole purpose of modifying a geo cache to be harmful, but what are some thoughts or expierences of those who have been geo caching for a while? Bad things happen and I would rather not be on the news as the unnamed geo cacher that was sent to the hospital or mourge from lack of experience or attention to safety.

TRF
05-07-2008, 09:37 AM
I am new to Geo Caching, but one concern I have is safety.Today there seems to be heavy security concerns everywhere you travel. Everyone is concerned about the next terrorist attack that will happen. So my thought is what safety steps can a geo cacher take both in setting up a new cache or searching for caches to prevent against the rough "geo cache terrorist" from booby trapping a cache with something harmful? I know the majority of malicious people in the world probably would not be hiking in the back woods for the sole purpose of modifying a geo cache to be harmful, but what are some thoughts or expierences of those who have been geo caching for a while? Bad things happen and I would rather not be on the news as the unnamed geo cacher that was sent to the hospital or mourge from lack of experience or attention to safety.

Common sense will prevail. If something seems unsafe or out of the ordinary, avoid it. When considering terrorist attacks, there is no sign that one can tell you to look for. There are no rules to follow in this case.