View Full Version : New to the fold.

djgray1200
05-07-2008, 06:10 PM
Hey all. Just a quick shout to introduce myself. My name is Jereme. I'm brand new to the hobby. Matter of fact I haven't even picked up a GPSr yet, but am very anxious to get going. My eyes are set on Garmin's etrex legend HCX. If anyone has any experience positive or negative or positive let me know. I want to make an educated decision. I look forward to interacting with everyone. Looks like a great community.

Team2hunt
05-07-2008, 06:23 PM
Welcome to what could be called a very close community. We have all been together for quite sometime now. You will always be welcome. Please do not hesitate to ask any questions, I'll bet we have the answers.

Well some would say a GPS is a GPS. But I prefer my Garmin. We started caching with an eTrex unit and had very few problems. Some new cachers have opted for the top of the line MAP60CSx. If you plan to do this and other activities with your GPS the auto-routing and detailed maps might be worth looking at. But believe me, these expensive units might get you to the cache quicker. But they don't make you any better at finding it.

Opalsns
05-07-2008, 06:29 PM
Welcome,
Garmin Etrex for us too!!!!
Happy Caching.
Opalsns and BubbaBass

TRF
05-07-2008, 06:49 PM
Firstly I'd like to say welcome and secondly Garmin makes a great GPS. I found my first 400 with Old Yellow (eTrex personal) and then I opted for the eTrex Vista C. The autorouting function is a great asset for geocaching. The only catch is you have to make sure you get the software and that can be as much as the GPS unit. I've been tracking a used Vista HCx on eBay (click here to see it (http://cgi.ebay.com/GARMIN-ETREX-VISTA-CX-WITH-EXTRAS_W0QQitemZ180240036061QQihZ008QQcategoryZ116 223QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)). I'm partial to the smaller eTrex models :). Check it out and it will give you an idea of some of the accessories you may want to consider.