View Full Version : Garmin Mapsource and Windows Vista...



Hiram357
06-27-2008, 07:23 PM
So I have vista on my laptop and my desktop... I just tried installing Mapsource on both of them, and it won't run on either because of a "registry issue" it tells me to reinstall the software and try again... so I do, and I get the same problem... Has anyone else had this problem????

vicbiker
06-27-2008, 08:01 PM
My problem wasn't with map source, but I think it was with cachemate not being compatible with Vista. I solve the problem and it was an easy fix, but don't remember how. I think maybe Haffy told how to do it. Sorry I'm not much help.

Mainiac1957
06-27-2008, 08:26 PM
vista SUCKS:eek::eek:

attroll
06-27-2008, 09:18 PM
I have Vista on my laptop and I have never had a problem with it. I kind of like it. I guess if you have maybe an older version or have not done the updates then maybe it does suck.

What sucks about it? I like a lot of the new features since XP so far.

Mainiac1957
06-27-2008, 09:29 PM
Hey if it's working for you then that is great. I know quite a few who have had horrible luck with it. Maybe the version has a lot to do with it. I have XP Home on the laptop and XP Pro on the desktop and haven't had much for problems. Besides haven't you seen all those mac commercials. Poor PC gets dumped on by mac all the time.:rolleyes:

Hiram357
06-27-2008, 09:58 PM
the only major problems ive had with vista is when I installed overtop of XP, when i wiped the drives and did a full install of vista everything worked great, this is the only software conflict I've had since.

hide_from_the_kids
06-27-2008, 10:19 PM
I Run Vista And Have Had No Problems With Map Source. I Did Have A Problem With My Palm But A Simple Upgrade Took Care Of That. I Like Vista But Every Now And Then I Miss My Old Xp Pro It Might Be Because I Was Just Use To It.

attroll
06-27-2008, 11:38 PM
Hey if it's working for you then that is great. I know quite a few who have had horrible luck with it. Maybe the version has a lot to do with it. I have XP Home on the laptop and XP Pro on the desktop and haven't had much for problems. Besides haven't you seen all those mac commercials. Poor PC gets dumped on by mac all the time.:rolleyes:

Of course the Mac commercials are going to dump on the PC. Who else are they going to try and get on. I know Andy will chime in here seeing he is a hard core Mac user. There is nothing a Mac can do that a PC can not do either.

If someone with a Mac says something like "we do not have all the viruses that a PC has" then you can say that is because not many own a Mac's. That is why there are not as many viruses on Mac's. Who is going to waist there time on a Mac. If Macs were as well used a PC's are then there would be just as many viruses out there on them. The fact is that the Mac almost disappeared from existence years back. They are just now trying to make a comeback. I said trying.

Haffy
06-28-2008, 06:44 AM
My problem wasn't with map source, but I think it was with cachemate not being compatible with Vista. I solve the problem and it was an easy fix, but don't remember how. I think maybe Haffy told how to do it. Sorry I'm not much help.

Sorry it wasn't me> I have XP on my machine. :confused:

WhereRWe?
06-28-2008, 09:01 AM
Our laptops came with Vista and we haven't had a problem with either one. Probably the problem lies with upgrading from XP to Vista. :D:D

Sudonim
06-28-2008, 09:26 AM
http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/147646/study_80_of_businesses_have_at_least_one_mac.html

Having said that, a lot of what you like is what you are used to. I've used Mac for 20 years and PCs are weird and scary to me. Lots of PC users feel the same about Macs.:p

WhereRWe?
06-28-2008, 04:11 PM
http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/147646/study_80_of_businesses_have_at_least_one_mac.html

Having said that, a lot of what you like is what you are used to. I've used Mac for 20 years and PCs are weird and scary to me. Lots of PC users feel the same about Macs.:p

My older son, who has a degree in "computational mathematics", just informed me today that he's "gone over to the dark side" and bought a Mac laptop.

Sigh... You do what you can to raise your kids and then they do something like that... :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Katadin Goddess
06-29-2008, 01:04 AM
im running mapsource version 6.12.3 on my laptop. i have vista and its working fine. i working well with gsak, cachemate, the palm pilot, and garmin 60csx. i got all the updates through the garmin website.

Hiram357
06-30-2008, 10:42 AM
ok, heres something i found out to throw into the equation... if i right click on the icon and click on "run as administrator" it runs without a problem... why is that when I'm the only user of both machines and set as "administrator" by default... :confused::confused::confused: