View Full Version : Triton 400 Issues



JustKev
11-19-2009, 09:41 PM
I guess we bought before we did enough research. The Triton 400 we have seems to want to lose it's lock on the satellites and then reacquire frequently. I upgraded the firmware to 1.78 as soon as I got it...not knowing about what it might do. I'm not satisfied with it's performance in the great outdoors either. When we're looking for a geocache it counts down in the number of feet we are from the cache and if we move away and back again it gives a different reading. For example, if the unit says I'm 3 feet from the coordinates, I can walk a few feet away and walk directly back to the same spot and it might tell me I'm 9 feet away. I got the bundle that included National Geographic's TOPO that gave me some super quads. At one point, had to take the SD card out of the GPS to get it to not lock up. I've e-mailed Magellan to see what my chances are for a refund but I'm not getting my hopes up there. Any suggestions?

squirrelcache
11-19-2009, 11:57 PM
Seems you're not the only one (http://www.buzzillions.com/reviews/magellan-triton-400-handheld-navigation-system-reviews) to have such bad experiences.

You bought it at LL Bean and can take great advantage of their satisfaction guarantee...right!? And even better...at their outlet where you saved a bunch!? I've seen many of these models at the outlet.....guess I now know why :(

Ekidokai
11-20-2009, 12:14 AM
I guess I'm glad I didn't get one. I was looking at them at one time.

JustPJ66
11-20-2009, 05:03 AM
I wish we bought it from ll bean I would ALREADY have taken it back, but we got it from Magellen direct. I surely wouldnt reccomend it to anyone.

number seven
11-20-2009, 06:54 AM
I have one and know that it is not the best for geocaching,but in all fairness mine works great for hiking and laying out routs & trails.I thought that the maps would have been more up to date,like DeLorme's.Oh well live and learn.I had an Explorer 400 before and liked that.I wish I had keep the PN 30.Dial-up is no fun..

WhereRWe?
11-20-2009, 08:08 AM
When we're looking for a geocache it counts down in the number of feet we are from the cache and if we move away and back again it gives a different reading. For example, if the unit says I'm 3 feet from the coordinates, I can walk a few feet away and walk directly back to the same spot and it might tell me I'm 9 feet away.

Sheesh, get used to it! LOL! Even the best handheld GPS receiver is only accurate to within 9-10 feet. And because the signal strength from a particular satellite is constantly changing slightly (tree cover, cloud cover, GPSr position, etc), the accuracy of the unit is constantly changing.

"Oldtimers" can remember the sling-shot effect. You'd walk to "ground zero" within 3 -5 feet, then the GPSr would suddenly decide that the cache was 50 feet behind you. This was especially bad under tree cover.

:D:D

JustKev
11-20-2009, 10:34 AM
WhereRWe, that's what I told my wife was happening. Still, I'm not impressed by hearing the GPS beep to tell me it's lost the satellites and then beep again telling me it's regained them. That's my biggest complaint with the Triton. We're headed out this afternoon and have to stop at Wally World in Waterville for something so we'll take a gander at what they have in stock there. Want to look at Garmin. If we get one, it'll be wife's unit to have and to hold. I did some further research and may try a forced update to see if it helps with the issue I don't care for.

WhereRWe?
11-20-2009, 12:00 PM
WhereRWe, that's what I told my wife was happening. Still, I'm not impressed by hearing the GPS beep to tell me it's lost the satellites and then beep again telling me it's regained them. That's my biggest complaint with the Triton.

That I can't explain. With our Garmin 60csx, we NEVER lose signal except when we go through a tunnel. :confused::confused:

Haffy
11-20-2009, 03:54 PM
Pretty hard to beat the 60csx for anything.

Haffy
11-20-2009, 03:55 PM
Hey Bruce when you gonna fix the bug with clicking on your GC id on this site. It still brings me to the WhereRwe in Va. LOL

Sudonim
11-20-2009, 04:16 PM
Hey Bruce when you gonna fix the bug with clicking on your GC id on this site. It still brings me to the WhereRwe in Va. LOL

Hey Bruce, I didn't know you were a firefighter.
That account looks like it got started and never finished. No cache finds or info at all.

WhereRWe?
11-20-2009, 05:02 PM
Pretty hard to beat the 60csx for anything.

I've gotta agree with you. It may not have the bells and whistles of some of the newer Garmins, but as far as an all-around good GPS receiver for geocaching, it's great.

(Sheesh! Did I just agree with Haffy??? )

WhereRWe?
11-20-2009, 05:03 PM
Hey Bruce when you gonna fix the bug with clicking on your GC id on this site. It still brings me to the WhereRwe in Va. LOL

Yeah - I checked it out when you first told me about it. Beats me how to fix is.

Rick? You out there? I've figured out what the script should be in the link - can you change that data?

Haffy
11-20-2009, 05:48 PM
I've gotta agree with you.
(Sheesh! Did I just agree with Haffy??? )

Again!!! HOLY COW!!! This has got to stop.....:eek:;)

brdad
11-20-2009, 06:43 PM
Yeah - I checked it out when you first told me about it. Beats me how to fix is.

Rick? You out there? I've figured out what the script should be in the link - can you change that data?

I played with it and found the problem - but I don't know where to fix it the correct way. Your "&" is goofing up the link. So this user name works:

WhereRWe? %26 RULOST2?

It's not petty, but it'll work for the time being!

WhereRWe?
11-20-2009, 07:28 PM
I played with it and found the problem - but I don't know where to fix it the correct way. Your "&" is goofing up the link. So this user name works:

WhereRWe? %26 RULOST2?

It's not petty, but it'll work for the time being!

Yeah - I also found a script that worked, but Rick is going to have to change the text of the link, if he can.

And speaking of Rick - he hasn't be on much lately. Anyone know his status?

brdad
11-20-2009, 07:31 PM
Yeah - I also found a script that worked, but Rick is going to have to change the text of the link, if he can.

And speaking of Rick - he hasn't be on much lately. Anyone know his status?

I think he just needs to replace and occurrences of "&" with "%26", it is already being done with spaces and the question marks.

Rick has been very busy on top of preparing for his hike next spring.

dubord207
11-20-2009, 08:57 PM
I wish we bought it from ll bean I would ALREADY have taken it back, but we got it from Magellen direct. I surely wouldnt reccomend it to anyone.


As you can see, the Magellen and its issues are now no longer part of the posts on this thread. This doesn't mean these folks don't "care" about your problem, they just have headed in a different direction. This happens all the time and I have derailed my share of threads as well.

I'd try the straight forward approach. Just send it back and tell them it does not perform as advertised or to your satisfaction. Demand a full refund, don't accept a substitute.

Get a GARMIN next time. We'll help you with your choice!

JustKev
11-20-2009, 09:11 PM
Well, we went and got an eTrex Venture HC to dabble with Garmin while I try to get a resolution from Magellan on my Triton. If they do refund, I may have another Garmin in my future as well. For now, that will give us a couple of GPS units we'll tinker with and will determine which way from here.

Thanks to everyone for the input.

rcwhit
11-20-2009, 11:41 PM
Hi Juskev, even my Garmin 60csx will give different readings as to where ground zero is. 79olds has the same thing as us and we can stand in the same spot and get different readings. We have not how ever had any trouble with losing the signal after the GPS get locked on.

Ekidokai
11-20-2009, 11:55 PM
Well, we went and got an eTrex Venture HC to dabble with Garmin while I try to get a resolution from Magellan on my Triton. If they do refund, I may have another Garmin in my future as well. For now, that will give us a couple of GPS units we'll tinker with and will determine which way from here.

Thanks to everyone for the input.

I have one and absolutly love it.

JustPJ66
11-22-2009, 06:18 AM
So far I like the Garmin we got. I am trying to figure it out by myself so it may take me a while to know what iam doing with it. Cant wait for kev's next day off so I can put it to the REAL test tho.

pjpreb
11-22-2009, 11:37 AM
This is off topic but I just love your avatar picture of the kitty :) :)

JustPJ66
11-22-2009, 11:40 AM
Thanks that is my new kitten Pasha. She is quite a character!

pjpreb
11-22-2009, 11:45 AM
Using her paw to grab your attention. Sooo cute :)

firefighterjake
11-23-2009, 08:30 AM
This is off topic but I just love your avatar picture of the kitty :) :)

Same here . . . love the pic.