View Full Version : Hot Spots, Roaming and "Free" WIFI

JustKev
11-30-2009, 04:12 AM
Let me preface this with, "I am not an expert on the subject". In another post my brother-in-law, RCWhit, commented that he was sitting in front of a coffee shop (not the one in Vassalboro) "stealing" their WIFI. I stated in that thread that to the best of my knowledge it wasn't stealing if they didn't have it secured. Someone else stated that it is, but from the ISP not the WAP owner. Maybe what I had heard was in relation to businesses who offer WIFI hotspots. Anyone have any clarification on that? If I go to Panera Bread in Augusta and sit in my truck connected to their WIFI is there any reason they can say I'm stealing. I can understand if I find someone's unsecure WAP and use their connection to the internet since it wasn't intentionally set up for use by others but I'm really wondering now about the hotspots they set up for that use.

WhereRWe?
11-30-2009, 08:10 AM
Maybe what I had heard was in relation to businesses who offer WIFI hotspots. Anyone have any clarification on that? If I go to Panera Bread in Augusta and sit in my truck connected to their WIFI is there any reason they can say I'm stealing. I can understand if I find someone's unsecure WAP and use their connection to the internet since it wasn't intentionally set up for use by others but I'm really wondering now about the hotspots they set up for that use.

I've been following the subject of WiFi for years, and in fact have tried to establish a listing of WiFi hotspots (http://www.geocachingmaine.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1189&highlight=wifi) to be posted here. The project died for lack of input.