View Full Version : Questions about the dakota 10



surfacewarrior
05-13-2011, 10:38 PM
showing my lack of knowledge about GPSr's I have two questions that I hope someone may be able to help me out with. (1 ) how many geocaches can you load onto the Dakota 10? and (2) if I need to, how do I delete a cache once it has been found or I just want to get it off the GPSr? thanks for any info anyone can give me.:confused::confused:

Mainiac1957
05-14-2011, 04:23 AM
They hold 2000 caches, and if it is done like my Oregon to remove caches you connect to your computer and do it from there. It connects up as an external drive. You just go under Garmin>GPX>(and whatever database you named the previous load). Then you can bulk delete it and reload fresh. You can not delete one at a time. They let you mark them as found, but they stay on until deleted. Hope this helps.

shuman road searchers
05-14-2011, 05:36 AM
I have the Dakota 10 and I believe that it will only hold 1000 caches.

JustKev
05-14-2011, 05:50 AM
A quick peek at the Garmin website shows SRS was the winner of this quiz. Brad, more homework for you and maybe next time you'll win. :)

brdad
05-14-2011, 05:59 AM
Ummmm... kev....

Dakota 10 / 20
2000 gpx files (each gpx file can contain a mixture of waypoints, geocaches, routes, and tracks)
1000 waypoints (when the gpx file containing a waypoint is deleted, the waypoint is no longer available on the unit) .
2000 geocaches (when the gpx file containing a geocache is deleted, the geocache is no longer available on the unit) (https://buy.garmin.com/support/searchSupport/case.faces?caseId={0b02f820-03db-11e0-e050-000000000000})

Why is it Garmin so readily lists how many waypoints a particular GPSr can hold, but you have to dig and search to find how many geocaches it can hold?

So, by reading this, my take on it is that you can never have more than 2000 caches, but if you have them all entered as individual GPX files, you could delete them one by one (but probably still not directly from the unit). But I could be the third responder who wasn't 100% accurate. :D:):D

JustKev
05-14-2011, 06:11 AM
I was too correct, I said in the beginning of my statement that I took a quick peek. I didn't dig for 20 minutes. :)

Mainiac1957
05-14-2011, 06:17 AM
Wasn't trying to win anything Kev. Just trying to help a cacher. Got my info from Garmin's website.

JustKev
05-14-2011, 06:35 AM
Wasn't trying to win anything Kev. Just trying to help a cacher. Got my info from Garmin's website.

I jumped too quick at the chance to pick on you. A quick glance at the website didn't divulge the info you and Dave had to dig (apparently) to find. :)

surfacewarrior
05-14-2011, 05:14 PM
thanks for the info. I did figure it out with your help sending me in the right direction.