View Full Version : pocket queries for maine



gpsxplr
07-09-2005, 11:39 AM
Hi,

I am hoping someone might have some good suggestions for pocket queries that will get all the caches in Maine, and New Hampshire if possible. I have two pocket queries in Maine right now, berwick and Medford with a radius of 75miles. This gets me several hundred caches, and yet on my last adventure not a one of the caches I looked for was caught by the queries.

I wish geocaching.com would simply let me get every cache in the state and increase this 500 limit.

Thanks,

geohikemaine.

WhereRWe?
07-09-2005, 12:12 PM
I wish geocaching.com would simply let me get every cache in the state and increase this 500 limit.

geohikemaine.

In a state like Maine, with 700-odd caches, this would not be a proble.

But California has over 20,000 caches. There has to be a limit, I suppose.

But I think you've got the right idea - do overlapping queries from designated points so that you'll get all the caches in the state. Using GSAK will sort out the duplicates. :D

dí76
07-09-2005, 12:44 PM
Hey all,


I resolved this issue by getting three different querried once a week.

I get one with a 500 cache and 500 mile radius that is central Maine.
I get one with a 500 cache and 100 mile radius that is Portland
I get one with a 500 cache and 100 mile radius that is Presque Isle.

Then I just load them like any other cache to my GPS.

I like to load them on Mapsource so that I am sure that I get them all. You also get to see where the consentrations of caches are.

Good Luck!
Dave

tat
07-09-2005, 01:14 PM
Another way is use the date placed criteria. One PQ for old caches and one for new. The trick is finding the cut off point, but, if you try a few times, it's not too hard.

I used to use found and not found, but I'm getting behind! :)

attroll
07-09-2005, 02:44 PM
This is what Brdad show told me what to do. Let me explain it a little. You will have to set up to queries.

The first cache in the state of Maine was placed on 2001-01-02.

So if you pick that as you start date criteria and then pick 2004-07-27 for your end date criteria then that will give you 497 caches to be just under the 500 limit.

Now what you do is set you next query to the start date of 2008-08-27 and that will get everything else. This will only work until we reach over 1,000 caches in the state of Maine. Once that happens then you will have to set up a third query.

WhereRWe?
07-09-2005, 02:47 PM
This is what Brdad show told me what to do. Let me explain it a little. You will have to set up to queries.

The first cache in the state of Maine was placed on 2001-01-02.

So if you pick that as you start date criteria and then pick 2004-07-27 for your end date criteria then that will give you 497 caches to be just under the 500 limit.

Now what you do is set you next query to the start date of 2008-08-27 and that will get everything else. This will only work until we reach over 1,000 caches in the state of Maine. Once that happens then you will have to set up a third query.

I'll bet MsTeeLee told him how to do that... :eek: :D

gpsxplr
07-09-2005, 03:15 PM
Great idea, didn't think to use dates.

thanks.

WhereRWe?
07-09-2005, 04:07 PM
Another question:

Any way to "force" a pocket query? I've been trying to get one generated for 2 days. I had it set for Friday, and it didn't run, so I modified it for Saturday, and it still hasn't run.

Any suggestions?

Haffy
07-09-2005, 04:17 PM
What I usually do is just run a complete new one and check off only run this one once. Works for me anyway. It usually generates within a couple of minutes.

Sabby
07-09-2005, 04:28 PM
Try this for all the caches in Maine.

Run Maine North from n48 0.00, w 66 0.00, 500 caches, 310 miles radius, state ME and Maine south from n40 0.00, w 74 0.00, 500 caches, 390 miles radius, state ME

It puts about 411 caches in north and 394 in south. I dont know just how much overlap there is but it kinda runs NW to SE thru Agusta.

You are right a never run cache will run almost immediately while one that has been run previously waits in the que. (oldest run first)

WhereRWe?
07-09-2005, 05:45 PM
What I usually do is just run a complete new one and check off only run this one once. Works for me anyway. It usually generates within a couple of minutes.

Yup. That worked. Generated in about 5 minutes. Thanks. :D

Starzz
02-17-2007, 12:47 PM
looking to get all maine caches in a pq... lots more caches placed since the last post here, 2005!! Anyone got updates so i can get all maine caches in queries..? :) thanks.

brdad
02-17-2007, 08:12 PM
looking to get all maine caches in a pq... lots more caches placed since the last post here, 2005!! Anyone got updates so i can get all maine caches in queries..? :) thanks.

Do you want ALL the Maine caches, or all the Maine caches you have not found?

Anyway, check my posts in this thread (http://www.geocachingmaine.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1890).

Let me know if you need help from there.

Starzz
02-17-2007, 10:00 PM
Thanks! I had to do 4 PQs, but I think i got them all!