View Full Version : GPSMAP 60 CS and GPSMAP 60 C



J_Cyr
07-14-2005, 12:00 PM
Difference? I noticed they are the same price, is one better then the other? Thanks!

Sabby
07-14-2005, 12:53 PM
I haven't seen them for the same price. I thought the 60CS was about $100 more. I just got a 60C and love it, but you need to get the City Select maps from Garmin to do autorouting. I think the main difference is that the 60CS has a magnetic compass and the 60C does not.

J_Cyr
07-14-2005, 01:14 PM
So the CS, is like buying a more loaded version? Like a truck compared to roll up windows, to power windows? :D My bad, on GPS Discount, the C is $359 and the CS is $395 Thanks!

Slate
07-14-2005, 01:14 PM
The 60cs also has a barometric altimeter.

Haffy
07-14-2005, 05:09 PM
Plus it does autorouting which the C doesn't and has the electronic compass which I like.

Sabby
07-14-2005, 05:22 PM
Haffy you have me confused. Does the 60CS autoroute without the benefit of City Select? When I load the maps for the area I want I can select a waypoint and upon doing a "go to" it selects my choice of fastest route or shortest route. At each turn it beeps and indicates which way to turn. I also have TOPO USA and can load it with topo maps of the cache areas I am going to visit.

Haffy
07-14-2005, 05:26 PM
That I'm not sure of as I have a Garmin Vista, maybe ask Dave1976 he has the 60C.

WhereRWe?
07-15-2005, 07:28 AM
Plus it does autorouting which the C doesn't and has the electronic compass which I like.

Sorry Haffy -

The Garmin GPSMap 60c DOES have autorouting capability, which I mentioned a couple of times in my comments about our trip to Quebec earlier this week.

It does require Garmin's City Select software, but the autorouting is great. We used it a lot and it tool us right to the caches we looked for.

Without City Select you can set it to autoroute, but there is so little data available that "you can't get there from here".

It does have a problem with one-way streets, though! :D

Haffy
07-15-2005, 09:06 AM
Ok I apologize for that mistake,it's the maps you need for autorouting better.

dí76
07-15-2005, 09:19 AM
Yah I know what your saying. When Mainaic1957 said he loved the autorouting on his 60cs I told him he was crazy and that It didn't auto route. I thought that mine was broke at that point because my 60c won't autoroute. I have topo usa for mine and topo does not autoroute. It shows the feature on the gps but it doesn't not work right. Anywhere you are it will just send you to the interstate no matter where you want to go. So it's all about the software. So if you want autorouting topo usa is not for you. If you want elevation more that auto routing such as I than topo is awesome.


Good Luck:)
Dave

WhereRWe?
07-15-2005, 12:21 PM
Yah I know what your saying. When Mainaic1957 said he loved the autorouting on his 60cs I told him he was crazy and that It didn't auto route. I thought that mine was broke at that point because my 60c won't autoroute. I have topo usa for mine and topo does not autoroute. It shows the feature on the gps but it doesn't not work right. Anywhere you are it will just send you to the interstate no matter where you want to go. So it's all about the software. So if you want autorouting topo usa is not for you. If you want elevation more that auto routing such as I than topo is awesome.


Good Luck:)
Dave

LOL! Mainiac1957 was the one that showed me how to set up autorouting on the 60c as well!

Either Street Atlas of Topo USA is great for the computer, but it doesn't do much for the GPS. I also have Street Atlas Handheld for the PDA, but it is so inferior to the mapping capability of the GPSMap 60c-series, that I don't even use it any more.

Th only trouble with the autorouting is that it will get you to the closest point to the cache, which may not be the best place to approach it.