View Full Version : Garmin 60c tide charts



Slate
12-21-2005, 02:11 PM
Do the new garmin 60c's come with the tide chart information stored in them? I never saw this function on my unit until I saw someone else's 60c who had the tide station info. I had to download the tide station info into Mapsource and download it into my unit. I am just curious if I accidentally erased the tide info with a Mapsource update, or does the 60c no longer come with this tide stored.

Sabby
12-21-2005, 03:19 PM
I don't think they are included.

Where did you download from??

I got the following from ;

http://gpsinformation.us/gps60c/g60review.html


Tide Tables: (Thanks to Mike)
Although Garmin doesn't include the 60C in their list of recommended units to display Tide Tables, and may void the warranty, but the 60C apparently can display them. They are available (HERE (http://www.garmin.com/software/RecommendedMapSourceUSTidesSoftware.exe)) as a 5.13 MB download. As long as you have MapSource installed, you can install this software and it will get added to your list of available map products in MapSource as "GPSMAP 162/168 Tide Points". The next step is to upload the Tide Points. This is just like any other map upload from MapSource. Select the map sets and maps you want, including the Tide Points you want, and proceed with the upload.

Haffy
12-21-2005, 05:39 PM
For those who don't have the option of tide charts for your GPS, there is also a good one for the Palm here: http://www.toolworks.com/bilofsky/tidetool/

Slate
12-22-2005, 09:26 AM
I don't think they are included.

Where did you download from??

I got the following from ;

http://gpsinformation.us/gps60c/g60review.html


Yes, that is where I got my tide station data for Mapsource from. It works great. It's nice to have it for those caches where it is easier to get at them at low tide.