View Full Version : Using GSAK

Haffy
01-10-2006, 08:29 AM
Don't know how many of the members in here use GSAK (geocaching swiss army knife) but there now is a specific forum by Clyde, the developer of GSAK, to answer any questions about it here:

http://www.gsak.net/board/

Maybe a good subject for a poll too would be how many members do use GSAK?

Gob-ler
01-10-2006, 09:12 AM
I have been using it for almost two years. Great program that does it all from the geocaching perspective. I also use cachemate for my paperless caching.

It makes it easy to keep track of not only the caches, but First to Finds too.;)

Cache on!

Hiram357
01-10-2006, 09:45 PM
is the forum confusing???? cuz i'm still tryin to figure out how to use the darn program :confused: :rolleyes:

Haffy
01-10-2006, 09:49 PM
Just post a question and I'm sure someone, if not Clyde himself will be happy to help you out.

Hiram357
01-10-2006, 09:54 PM
by posting a question... do you mean hear or on the website?? what color post-it note should i use??? last week i used a yellow post it and stuck it right in the middle of my screen... it stayed there for a whole week with no response, i finally got tired of trying to see through it while i was typing and took it off.... :o

TeamAfrofish
01-11-2006, 01:29 AM
I figured I'd let everyone know how/why I use GSAK currently. I'd love to know how/why other people use it.

I generally use it to import pocket queries from geocaching.com. I have one for the York area and one for the Portland area and use GSAK to combine them and eliminate duplicates. If needed, I update our Garmin Vista C with the waypoints. I will then export the database as a GSX file and use Spinner on it to create web pages I can then import into the Palm via Plucker.

I haven't had much trouble using GSAK. One thing I have noticed with my whole paperless process is that if the GSX file contains more than a couple hundred caches, the Plucker process takes forever to run (with 3 levels of links set).