vb:literal>

Thread: RE: Decided to go ahead and take the initiative

Default RE: Decided to go ahead and take the initiative

I may catch some flack for this, but after reading some posts I decided to put up some of my favorite caches under the "Favorite Cache" listing. I did this not to be elitist or because I think I know what are the best caches out there -- I'm still relatively new with less than 200 caches so I definitely don't have a handle on what are the best caches state-wide.

I did this because I know if I was visiting an area due to a meeting, vacation, etc. and had a limited amount of time to go geocaching I would appreciate any input from folks who might have some insight as to what they feel are good caches to check out . . . this is not designed to be an end-all, be-all since new caches appear and old caches are archived. Instead, I hope it may prove helpful to some folks . . . and show new cachers what some good caches look like . . . at least in my humble opinion.

At this time I would ask folks here to do two things. First, I created a thread for my favorite caches in the Greater Waterville Area, Greater Bangor Area and Greater Unity Area (incidentally I specifically did not include my own caches -- I did not want to be seen as promoting my own caches) since these are two areas that I have done a lot of caches in . . . if you've done a lot of caches in these areas please feel free to go to these threads and post your own favorites that are in these areas (of course your opinion is entirely subjective as is the idea of an "area" -- i.e. some folks may consider Millinocket to be in the Greater Bangor Area for example whereas I would probably put it in another thread . . . again the idea behind this is to give someone who is coming into the area for a limited time the chance to explore a few caches in the local area.