Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 101

Thread: RE: Hold on to your knickers, but I actually have a question about paperless gc-ing

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bangor, ME
    Posts
    3,961

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brdad View Post
    They are similar, but Palm has their own operating system, Palm OS. Pocket PCs use a Microsoft operating system, an upgrade from Windows CE. I don't beleive anyone but Palm has products with the Palm OS, but the Pocket PC OS can be found on different manufacturer's products, just like the real Windows.
    but I have just about everything that I use on my PC on my palm (like word, excel, AIM, Yahoo Messenger, Cachemate, ect...) so is there extreme benifit to having one over the other?
    Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangor, ME
    Posts
    6,061

    Default

    I don't think so. The PPC is more campatible with Windows based PCs, since it is Windows after all. And PPCs can multitask, a feature that has just come to the Palms (That's why you can listen to MP3s and still play a game on the TX). Palms are tried and true and generally dependable from what I have heard.

    Basically, Brad said it all - Mac Vs PC, Cruella vs. *insert name of ex wife here*, Coke vs Pepsi... Well, wait. we know Moxie wins that hands down.
    DNFTT! DNFTT! DNFTT!

    "The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it..."

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Maine
    Posts
    621

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mainiac1957 View Post
    Ford-Chevy , Coke-Pepsi , Budweiser-Any other beer or ale on the planet etc etc etc...........
    Ford.....Definately Ford
    If you want to try cross country skiing, start with a small country

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnglzOfMyHrt View Post
    I just bought an HP ipaq that was pretty cool compared to the palm they had at staples because I wanted to run my microsoft office on it as well, and palm is doing away with that. Is there a better way to go paperless with my HP than saving each cache in word or acrobat reader and downloading. Is there a way to do more than one at a time???
    Thanks
    I use GPX Sonar - you can find a link on the GC.com website. I knew that Cachemate came out with a PPC program but haven't made the switch.
    ~ Beach Comber ~

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    1,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hiram357 View Post
    but I have just about everything that I use on my PC on my palm (like word, excel, AIM, Yahoo Messenger, Cachemate, ect...) so is there extreme benifit to having one over the other?
    As presented, there is a platform difference between the two. But the biggest difference that I have seen related to geocaching is that there are far fewer PPC users than Palm so your pool of resources is far more limited. I have an iPAQ and though I have figured it out, I would definitely buy a Palm - probably a Zire model - if I bought one now.

    A lot of the discussion/instruction that has been presented on this website has been specific for the Palm platform and is not applicable on the PPC.
    ~ Beach Comber ~

  6. #46

    Default

    hehehe thank you, I'll check into the cachemate to see more what it does. I was told by the associate at stapples that the current palms have office on them, but the new ones won't and they will be continuing the support and upgrades for them, but the hp has it and will still have it and upgrades when available.
    HUGS
    AnglzOfMyHrt

    <a href="http://www.geocaching.com/profile/?guid=1d8edb46-6ecb-4ca2-8610-3d71f6ca996e" target="_blank"><img src="http://img.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=Let's+go+geocaching&uid=1d8edb46-6ecb-4ca2-8610-3d71f6ca996e&bg=1" border="0" title="Profile for AnglzOfMyHrt" alt="Profile for AnglzOfMyHrt"></a>

  7. #47

    Default

    Not knowing that Cachemate had a PPC version out, for the heck of it I went and downloaded it to my PPC (yes Windows platform) just to see what all the hoo-rah was about.

    I seem to have loaded it properly on my PPC and it shows up in my program listings but when I open it up it has no pocket query database loaded into it? Do I have to pay for it and register it before it will work? I wasn’t planning on buying it yet…

    I have always used GPXSonar and my Pocket queries files automatically get uploaded in GPX Sonar when I turn it on.

    How do I upload the caches page pocket queries into this CacheMate program?
    Do I have to specify CacheMate as the default cache page reader? I can’t find anything anywhere to help me.

    I’d like to be able to go back and forth between applications to compare the two to see if I prefer one over the other.

    Can anyone who has a (windows platform) PPC and uses both GPXSonar and Cachemate offer me any suggestions?
    Its probably something very simple that I am overlooking.
    "It may be that your soul purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others" ~Steven Wright~
    I'm in my own little Lat/Lon

    “Danse avec les Arbres”

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bangor, ME
    Posts
    3,961

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Foxgloves View Post
    Not knowing that Cachemate had a PPC version out, for the heck of it I went and downloaded it to my PPC (yes Windows platform) just to see what all the hoo-rah was about.

    I seem to have loaded it properly on my PPC and it shows up in my program listings but when I open it up it has no pocket query database loaded into it? Do I have to pay for it and register it before it will work? I wasn’t planning on buying it yet…

    I have always used GPXSonar and my Pocket queries files automatically get uploaded in GPX Sonar when I turn it on.

    How do I upload the caches page pocket queries into this CacheMate program?
    Do I have to specify CacheMate as the default cache page reader? I can’t find anything anywhere to help me.

    I’d like to be able to go back and forth between applications to compare the two to see if I prefer one over the other.

    Can anyone who has a (windows platform) PPC and uses both GPXSonar and Cachemate offer me any suggestions?
    Its probably something very simple that I am overlooking.
    I use GSAK to manage all my caches, and you can create a file using GSAK to download to your unit for cachemate. www.gsak.net
    Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.

  9. #49

    Default

    I can't afford to buy a palm, so i'll have to use my ipaq which i actually love so if I just have to download and make an acrobat reader file with no clues or word page with clues, then that's ok, but i am curious about the different programs. I guess I'm looking for something that will download everything at once along with whether I found it or not. Hopin for a lot i guess.
    HUGS
    AnglzOfMyHrt

    <a href="http://www.geocaching.com/profile/?guid=1d8edb46-6ecb-4ca2-8610-3d71f6ca996e" target="_blank"><img src="http://img.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=Let's+go+geocaching&uid=1d8edb46-6ecb-4ca2-8610-3d71f6ca996e&bg=1" border="0" title="Profile for AnglzOfMyHrt" alt="Profile for AnglzOfMyHrt"></a>

  10. #50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hiram357 View Post
    I use GSAK to manage all my caches, and you can create a file using GSAK to download to your unit for cachemate. www.gsak.net

    Yes and so do I. But I already have the pocket queries saved as .gpx files in my synchronization folder. That’s what GPXSonar automatically opens when I turn it on. I should be able to open Cachemate and upload these files….that are already in my synchronization folder.

    According to GSAK Cachemate (PPC version) should be able to read this type file (.gpx) All my pocket queries are gpx files.

    They just don’t seem to show up in my Cachemate application when I turn it on…that’s where the problem is…

    Maybe I can’t have both GPXSonar and Cachemate programs loaded on my PPC and it automatically defaults to GPXSonar? I don’t get it…
    "It may be that your soul purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others" ~Steven Wright~
    I'm in my own little Lat/Lon

    “Danse avec les Arbres”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •