vb:literal>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Triton 1500

Default Triton 1500

I ordered a Triton 1500 and am wondering if it's as good as I am hoping it is? I'm new to geocaching and want to use it to get out more with the family. Thanks for your help!

Quote Originally Posted by mw.1970 View Post
    I ordered a Triton 1500 and am wondering if it's as good as I am hoping it is? I'm new to geocaching and want to use it to get out more with the family. Thanks for your help!
    Sheesh! First of all it's a Magellan...

(Better get used to the Magellan bashing! LOL!)

Here's a review.

Hahaha,,, so I guess that's not a good thing?

Quote Originally Posted by mw.1970 View Post
    Hahaha,,, so I guess that's not a good thing?
    The review sounds good... Looks like a nice unit, but it IS a Magellan...

Thanks for the link to the review by the way!

I've got a Magellan Triton 400 and once it's acquired the satellites it seems to do quite well. The key portion of that statement is "once it's acquired". My wife's Garmin seems to be up and running lightning fast by comparison. Once they're both booted and have the satellites well in hand, they both seem to have ups and downs that are inherent in all GPS units I've seen in operation thus far. Don't let the Magellan bashers get to you.

Default Triton?

You might find that in the long run a Garmin would have been a better choice. We're all trying to be supportive and hope you take to the game full tilt like a lot of us, but a lot of the software we use works best with Garmin products. Not sure what you paid for the Triton. You can compare prices on a lot of sites. I have bought several Garmins from Tiger.gps, and they sell them all so you can price shop. I know it would be a pain to send the Magellen back, but keep the box and everything that comes with it in case you decide you want to return it.

There are a "few" Magellen fans on this site but Garmin and the new DeLorme's seem to be the favorites.