Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problems with Geocaching.com

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eustis, Maine
    Posts
    378

    Default Problems with Geocaching.com

    I'm having a lot of problems with the Geocaching.com website. At first I thought it might be bugs in my computer but it just got a clean bill of health after a trip to the "doctors". Then they said they were upgrading the site and I thought it might work better after that. NOT! Whenever I try to look through caches, it keeps coming up with the message "A problem with this website has caused Internet Explorer to close and reopen this page". Sometimes it takes many tries to open what I want to look at. Why??? I recently upgraded my Internet Explorer program and it got really bad after that. Before, I could get where I wanted to go by clicking refresh once. Now almost nothing works. And caching season is coming up! Help!

    PS All other websites work fine... Just not this one that I REALLY want...
    "There is nothing- absolutely nothing- half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats". Wind In the Willows

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Solon, Maine
    Posts
    5,940

    Default

    Switch to Firefox!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, ME
    Posts
    631

    Default

    I use IE 8 and dont have that problem. at least not yet.
    Hey! Dont forget to submit your suggestions for the Ammo Can! It's your newsletter. Help to make it wonderful!! P.S. I apologize now for the typos and misspellings in my post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    [x, y, z, t]
    Posts
    668

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kayaking loon View Post
    I'm having a lot of problems with the Geocaching.com website. At first I thought it might be bugs in my computer but it just got a clean bill of health after a trip to the "doctors". Then they said they were upgrading the site and I thought it might work better after that. NOT! Whenever I try to look through caches, it keeps coming up with the message "A problem with this website has caused Internet Explorer to close and reopen this page". Sometimes it takes many tries to open what I want to look at. Why??? I recently upgraded my Internet Explorer program and it got really bad after that. Before, I could get where I wanted to go by clicking refresh once. Now almost nothing works. And caching season is coming up! Help!

    PS All other websites work fine... Just not this one that I REALLY want...
    I didn't know there are still people who use IE. Use Google Chrome instead
    Moo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    America
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    I have always used what ever came with the computer. If that is IE than so be it. I get the upgrades when the machine tells me to upgrade. I have also noticed that from time to time the website seems to have problems. Just don't give up. give it a while and it will work out.

    I have been using GSAK more now and it is turning out to be a better tool than I ever thought. All the info I want without going to the website.
    I have no enemies, but I'm intensely disliked by my friends.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eustis, Maine
    Posts
    378

    Default I Hate Computers!

    Quote Originally Posted by cano View Post
    I didn't know there are still people who use IE. Use Google Chrome instead

    I just tried Google Chrome and it works great! Except..... if I go to download an individual cache to my PN-20, it says I can only download through Windows: XP or Vista; Internet Explorer 6.x-7.x; or Firefox 1.5-3.x. Sigh...

    On to Firefox??
    "There is nothing- absolutely nothing- half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats". Wind In the Willows

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    I have been a steadfast user of IE for many many years and never seem to have any of the problems that others seem to have. Maybe I just am lucky, I always use the latest AVG antivirus,ad aware, and zonealarm. Other than when the site itself is down for repairs or when the weekend approaches then they sometimes are slow getting their PQ's out because of the higher weekend traffic.

    I agree with Ekidokai though that GSAK is your friend. If you have an udated database in GSAK then there is no need to use the GC website.
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    America
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    No good can ever come from agreeing with me.
    I have no enemies, but I'm intensely disliked by my friends.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    ME
    Posts
    3,517

    Default

    Have had the same problem with GC.com for ages. IE updated, security updated...........and just live with - after it displays the message - back back one step and everything is fine.

    Not the ideal but it works. I could use FireFox but don't routinely so it would be just a pain.

    First encountered this a a friend's about a month ago - it's a pain.

    Anyway - ways around it - cache on, cache happy...............

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Hampden, ME
    Posts
    891

    Default Firefox has.....

    Firefox has worked very well for me. I like their "Fast Dial" bookmarks.
    Everyone has the right to be an idiot at times. Just don't abuse the privilege.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •