vb:literal>

Thread: Confused about my Identity

Default Confused about my Identity

Hi, this is my first post. I am a very newbie, geo-wannabie.
    A friend found a geocache in the muggley way a few weeks ago, looked the activity up on-line, told me about it. I got a copy of "Tish Plays the Game" at the Mystery Cove Bookstore and decided I could do as well as Tish with fewer damages.
    The problem so far (I haven't yet found a cache by myself but that's not the problem) I registered with a user name and password at Geocaching.com and then I found GeocachinginMaine.com and that user name and password did not work, so I created a new code name and password for this Maine group. Was that a mistake? Should I try to delete one of those identities, or do I use a separate identity for each website?
    I hope to find a geocache someday soon, and I would like to log it correctly.
    Thanks for any help and advice.
    Carol in Maine or SFTA2010 (take your pick)

Hi, Carol!

To quickly answer a couple of your questions...

Geocaching.com is the main, worldwide geocaching web site. It hosts all the information regarding geocaches, etc.

GeocachingMaine.org is a loosely associated group of (mostly) Maine geocachers. On GCM.org, we chat, plan local geocaching events, and generally talk about Maine geocaching.

Don't delete either identity. Both web sites are very important for Maine geocachers.

I usually send a welcome message to all new members of GCM.org, and I think I sent you one on Oct 10th. It should answer a lot of your questions. (If you don't have it, let me know and I'll resend.)

Welcome, Carol in Maine. The most important aspect of geocaching is this.....have fun!!!