Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Attributes on PN-40

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    China, Maine
    Posts
    238

    Default Attributes on PN-40

    Is there any way to display attributes on my PN-40? I have read that this was supposed to be something that was available in the 2.8 firmware update. I have 2.8 and I can't see anywhere to show attributes. I know that I can filter in my PQs or in GSAK but sometimes when I am out on the trail I would like to know if a cache is winter friendly or not (especially now).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brewer,ME
    Posts
    2,573

    Default You need to be getting the right GPX files

    Go to Geocaching .com to the Account settings page. At the very bottom on the left side it will say which version of GPX files you are getting. If it is 1.0 then you need to edit it to be 1.0.1 then it will send attributes along into GSAK. Whether this will help you get them on a PN-40 I don't know, but it is a place to start.
    Happy Trails!
    Yeah it's a Jeep thing!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    China, Maine
    Posts
    238

    Default

    I set it to 1.0.1 when they first released it but I have not seen any changes on the PN-40 for attributes since the 2.8 firware release.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Litchfield, Maine
    Posts
    3,588

    Default

    I looked at my PN-40 also and I do not see anywhere that the attributes are listed either. I also have the 2.8.520082 firmware in mine. Do you remember where you read this?
    Blazing Troll

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    331

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by attroll View Post
    I looked at my PN-40 also and I do not see anywhere that the attributes are listed either. I also have the 2.8.520082 firmware in mine. Do you remember where you read this?
    same here. Was wishing it was available the other day.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    China, Maine
    Posts
    238

    Default

    If you search on google for PN-40 attributes you will find it on the Delorme Forums and it is actually Chip Noble who mentioned it would be part of the 2.8 upgrade.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Litchfield, Maine
    Posts
    3,588

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fins_Up View Post
    If you search on google for PN-40 attributes you will find it on the Delorme Forums and it is actually Chip Noble who mentioned it would be part of the 2.8 upgrade.
    Have you emailed Chip and asked him about it?
    Blazing Troll

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    China, Maine
    Posts
    238

    Default

    That would be a good idea. What is his email address?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Litchfield, Maine
    Posts
    3,588

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fins_Up View Post
    That would be a good idea. What is his email address?
    I just sent you a private message with Chips email address. Please let us know if you find anything out.
    Blazing Troll

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    China, Maine
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Thanks! I sent an email off this morning. Hopefully we will hear back soon. The blog entry that I referenced earlier is here: http://blog.delorme.com/category/pn-40-news/

    It is near the bottom under the heading of "Firmware Updates".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •