Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Garmin Etrex Vista C program

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Campobello Island, New Brunswick
    Posts
    398

    Default Garmin Etrex Vista C program

    Does anyone have City Select North America v6?

    Sue

  2. #2
    dí76 Guest

    Default

    I can get it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Niskayuna, NY
    Posts
    601

    Post

    I got City Select version 6.02 when I got my GPSMAP60C a few weeks ago. Do you have a question about it that I might be able to answer??




    A house is not a home without a cat.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Campobello Island, New Brunswick
    Posts
    398

    Default

    Well I don't have it but would like to have it. Was thinking maybe swapping a copy for MetroGuide Canada v4.

  5. #5
    dí76 Guest

    Default

    That might be against the law

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Campobello Island, New Brunswick
    Posts
    398

    Default

    ohhhhhhhhhh yeah!! forgot about that part!! darn it!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangor, ME
    Posts
    6,061

    Default

    Hmm, I coulda sworn I saw a post in here earlier about setting examples...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Solon, Maine
    Posts
    5,940

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Starzz
    Does anyone have City Select North America v6?

    Sue
    I have it. Do you have a question? If you'd like to see it, we can demonstrate it for you when we come to Campobello next week! For example, we could demonstrate the autorouting features while you're showing us where the caches are! LOL!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Niskayuna, NY
    Posts
    601

    Post

    It requires an unlock code to be able to access the data and then it locks it to the GPS you are using. Additional codes need to be purchased if you want to use it on other GPSr's. It does include Canada as a part of its database.




    A house is not a home without a cat.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Solon, Maine
    Posts
    5,940

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sabby
    It requires an unlock code to be able to access the data and then it locks it to the GPS you are using. Additional codes need to be purchased if you want to use it on other GPSr's. It does include Canada as a part of its database.
    But you can use TWO unlock codes per copy of the program.

    Garmin told me that this is often the case when you buy City Select from a vendor on eBay. The copy of the program you get is new, but was taken from a bundled GPSr/software set. The software is factory preset for the specific GPSr it was solf with, and won't work unless you have the same GPSr it was designed for. This happened with the software I got from eBay, but I got great help from Garmin.

    Garmin explained that this happens a LOT, but that since you are allowed TWO unlocks per copy, all you have to do is call Garmin and they'll give you a second unlock code and tell you how to set the software for your GPSr.

    So..... If you want to trade software with someone, it will probably work as long as they didn't already use a second unlock code.


Similar Threads

  1. Wanted: Cheap etrex
    By Kaching Karen in forum Private Sales (members)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 07:40 AM
  2. Garmin eTrex Legend for Sale
    By WhereRWe? in forum Private Sales (members)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-2005, 06:06 PM
  3. Win an eTrex Vista?
    By WhereRWe? in forum General Geocaching Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-20-2004, 06:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •