Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GPSMAP 60 CS and GPSMAP 60 C

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Caribou, Maine
    Posts
    639

    Default GPSMAP 60 CS and GPSMAP 60 C

    Difference? I noticed they are the same price, is one better then the other? Thanks!
    Sorry, you can not add yourself to your own ignore list.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Niskayuna, NY
    Posts
    602

    Default

    I haven't seen them for the same price. I thought the 60CS was about $100 more. I just got a 60C and love it, but you need to get the City Select maps from Garmin to do autorouting. I think the main difference is that the 60CS has a magnetic compass and the 60C does not.




    A house is not a home without a cat.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Caribou, Maine
    Posts
    639

    Default

    So the CS, is like buying a more loaded version? Like a truck compared to roll up windows, to power windows? My bad, on GPS Discount, the C is $359 and the CS is $395 Thanks!
    Sorry, you can not add yourself to your own ignore list.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    200

    Default

    The 60cs also has a barometric altimeter.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    Plus it does autorouting which the C doesn't and has the electronic compass which I like.
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Niskayuna, NY
    Posts
    602

    Default

    Haffy you have me confused. Does the 60CS autoroute without the benefit of City Select? When I load the maps for the area I want I can select a waypoint and upon doing a "go to" it selects my choice of fastest route or shortest route. At each turn it beeps and indicates which way to turn. I also have TOPO USA and can load it with topo maps of the cache areas I am going to visit.




    A house is not a home without a cat.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Solon, Maine
    Posts
    5,940

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haffy6
    Plus it does autorouting which the C doesn't and has the electronic compass which I like.
    Sorry Haffy -

    The Garmin GPSMap 60c DOES have autorouting capability, which I mentioned a couple of times in my comments about our trip to Quebec earlier this week.

    It does require Garmin's City Select software, but the autorouting is great. We used it a lot and it tool us right to the caches we looked for.

    Without City Select you can set it to autoroute, but there is so little data available that "you can't get there from here".

    It does have a problem with one-way streets, though!
    Last edited by WhereRWe?; 07-15-2005 at 07:31 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    That I'm not sure of as I have a Garmin Vista, maybe ask Dave1976 he has the 60C.
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    Ok I apologize for that mistake,it's the maps you need for autorouting better.
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  10. #10
    dí76 Guest

    Default

    Yah I know what your saying. When Mainaic1957 said he loved the autorouting on his 60cs I told him he was crazy and that It didn't auto route. I thought that mine was broke at that point because my 60c won't autoroute. I have topo usa for mine and topo does not autoroute. It shows the feature on the gps but it doesn't not work right. Anywhere you are it will just send you to the interstate no matter where you want to go. So it's all about the software. So if you want autorouting topo usa is not for you. If you want elevation more that auto routing such as I than topo is awesome.


    Good Luck
    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. New GPSmap 60/76 and eTrex with SiRF, for more accurate geocaching
    By OttoLund in forum Geocaching Hardware & Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 01:27 PM
  2. New software for GPSMAP 76CS - Ver. 4.00
    By TwoMaineiacs in forum Geocaching Hardware & Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 04:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •