Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: C:GEO vs GEOBEAGLE is geobeagle's coordnates more in line with geocaching.com?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Readfield, Maine
    Posts
    101

    Default C:GEO vs GEOBEAGLE is geobeagle's coordnates more in line with geocaching.com?

    After useing C:GEO this past week and being a couple of hundred feet from every geocache. Found that the coordnates are not the same ones listed in Geocaching.com some off on the lat some on the long. axis and not the same distance (up to 200 ft.). I was lucky enough to have done a couple of geocaches in Mass that the hints helped me find at least two. I still need a free app and after a little research it sounds like GEOBEAGLE might be better. has anyone tried it and do they know if it is any better than C:GEO at at least giving you the same coordates for the GPSr as geocaching .com. my [phone was dead on with my garmin as far as taking me to the same location. but I was putting in the Coordates from C:GEO so they were both taking me to the wrong location. (OK I now know that in this situation I need to go to ground Zero and start searching in a circle 250 ft in each direction, but a couple of weeks ago at Ft. Point state park that starting point was 84 meters out in the middle of the river/bay.)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Litchfield, Maine
    Posts
    3,588

    Default

    Are you saying that C:GEO is not giving you the correct coordinates from the GC web site? It should be giving you the same coordinates because what it actually does is log into GC as you and get the info.
    Blazing Troll

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brewer,ME
    Posts
    2,574

    Default

    I've used c:geo some and it's as accurate as a phone is going to be.
    Happy Trails!
    Yeah it's a Jeep thing!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Belgrade, ME
    Posts
    631

    Default

    does this mean garmin will be making phones soon??
    Hey! Dont forget to submit your suggestions for the Ammo Can! It's your newsletter. Help to make it wonderful!! P.S. I apologize now for the typos and misspellings in my post.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Readfield, Maine
    Posts
    101

    Default

    I thought it was the phone that was off with the locations, so I took the coordates listed on C:GEO and manually put the into my GPSr and they took me to the exact same ground zero. It made me think (scary <me thinking) so yesterday I went onto both at home and when comparing two seperate geocache locations one was off on the N axis and the other one was off on the W axis. if it was the same I was thinking I could just correct for it but with it being random I will not know which one or how much to correct. I did Horizantal hemlock and the other one near it in kents hills by the cemetary. less than 2 miles apart but neither match up with geocaching.com.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    [x, y, z, t]
    Posts
    668

    Default

    if you are getting wrong coordinates, it might be a bug in c:geo or geocaching.com is feeding wrong coordinates on purpose since it's competitors product and they can't compete with them another way (price, quality...)
    Moo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Readfield, Maine
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JustPJ66 View Post
    does this mean garmin will be making phones soon??
    NAH........ samsung will be making GPSr's maybe.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JustPJ66 View Post
    does this mean garmin will be making phones soon??
    Not sure why you ask, but... garmin has already gone there and failed

    List of Garmin cell phones

    Name OS Release Date Availability
    nuvifone G60 Proprietary (Linux) October 4, 2009 US(AT&T)
    asus Windows Mobile 6.5.3 Asia/Europe
    nuvifone M10 Windows Mobile 6.5 Asia/Europe
    nuvifone M20 Windows Mobile 6.1 Asia/Europe
    nuvifone A10 Android 1.6/2.1 Eclair Asia/Europe
    nuvifone A50/Garminfone Android 1.6/2.1 Eclair (update) June 9, 2010 US(T-Mobile)


  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UMainah View Post
    Not sure why you ask, but... garmin has already gone there and failed

    List of Garmin cell phones

    Name OS Release Date Availability
    nuvifone G60 Proprietary (Linux) October 4, 2009 US(AT&T)
    asus Windows Mobile 6.5.3 Asia/Europe
    nuvifone M10 Windows Mobile 6.5 Asia/Europe
    nuvifone M20 Windows Mobile 6.1 Asia/Europe
    nuvifone A10 Android 1.6/2.1 Eclair Asia/Europe
    nuvifone A50/Garminfone Android 1.6/2.1 Eclair (update) June 9, 2010 US(T-Mobile)
    Why bother. iPhone4S does it all better.... throw one of the Garmin Apps on it, or xMotion GPS app and you have yourself a perfectly fine car GPS let alone a good Caching GPS for finding, NOT placing caches
    <a href="http://www.geocaching.com/profile/?guid=0838195a-ef02-4e25-a4b9-50f88e311feb" target="_blank"><img src="http://img.geocaching.com/stats/img.aspx?txt=Serious+Caching+Adventures&uid=083819 5a-ef02-4e25-a4b9-50f88e311feb&bg=1" alt="Profile for SeriousTool" /></a>

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Starks
    Posts
    323

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JustPJ66 View Post
    does this mean garmin will be making phones soon??
    I know someone who worked at T-Mobile so I actually got to see the Garmin Phone. It came with a window mount to charge it and use it as a car GPSr. It was actually pretty nice. The accuracy seemed OK but it would lose signal under the trees. I don't know what ever happened with it though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •