Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Another new GC.com feature

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Thumbs up Another new GC.com feature

    Just read in the forums of another new GC.com feature that is available to premium members.If you go to the cache page and go to your account and click on the top of the page, premium member features, they are trying out a new beta instant notification feature. That's for all of us cachers who like to be FTF....lol. Just fill out the info and when a new cache pops up,your email account that you signed up with will be notified of the new cache in the area that you filled out. Kind of cool I thought. Just another advantage of being a premium member. For 30 bux a year not bad for all that it (GC.com) provides,but that is just my opinion. Check it out!!!
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  2. #2

    Default

    NICE!! Thanks for pointing this out... my thinking is that they've had this under wraps for years so that super premium members can get all the FTF's!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    temp
    Posts
    666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haffy6
    If you go to the cache page and go to your account and click on the top of the page, premium member features, they are trying out a new beta instant notification feature. That's for all of us cachers who like to be FTF....lol.
    OK, but it will only notify for a certain type of cache. Is there a way around that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    stonington me
    Posts
    784

    Default

    lol you'll still beat me to all the caches, haffy! i live way too far way from everything!
    "life is short...make a mess of it!"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Brewer, Maine
    Posts
    1,808

    Default

    Haffy, did you lobby GC for this feature?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trezurs*-R-*Fun
    OK, but it will only notify for a certain type of cache. Is there a way around that?

    You have to do a separate one for each,remember this is beta so it's still in it's infancy.
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sudonim
    Haffy, did you lobby GC for this feature?

    No but I should have I guess huh?....lol. Besides YOP is still the king of FTF's
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bangor, ME
    Posts
    6,061

    Default

    I knew this feature was coming, but it was expected what feels like 10 years ago so I had forgotten it. It does stink you can't select multiple cache types.

    Until the last major upgrade, about 8 months ago, there was a cacher who had a service which emailed you with all new caches. It wasn't flawless, but worked well until gc.com shut him down because it was leaching their resources.

    So, it's good to see gc.com adapts to what people are asking for, though I look often to see what is out there anyway!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Georgia
    Posts
    3,875

    Default

    The one thing that I am waiting for and a lot of other people too is being able to get a pocket query of caches along at route. There is a way to do it with using GSAK and arcs and poly lines and such but it is asking too much of me to figure that part out...
    Just smile it won't crack your face

    The statistics on sanity are that one out of every four persons is
    suffering from some sort of mental illness. Think of your three best
    friends -- if they're okay, then it's you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Solon, Maine
    Posts
    5,940

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haffy6
    The one thing that I am waiting for and a lot of other people too is being able to get a pocket query of caches along at route. There is a way to do it with using GSAK and arcs and poly lines and such but it is asking too much of me to figure that part out...
    Seems to me that Mainiac1957 told me that you could do that with the Garmin GPSMap 60-series. Or maybe I just imagined it. SPEAK UP, BRAD!!!

    Would be a GREAT resource, though.


Similar Threads

  1. New Google Earth Feature
    By Haffy in forum General Geocaching Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 07:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •