vb:literal>

Thread: Lest We Forget...

Default Lest We Forget...

RULOST2? and I recently spent a couple of days caching in Massachusetts. I grew up in Andover, MA, and being familiar with the area made caching a lot easier. We're usually guilty of not logging DNF's, but on this trip we did log one - "Baby E"

This is a micro apparently located somewhere in the bleachers at a baseball field. But what hit me as we pulled into the parking lot was the fact that the park was dedicated to SP4 Warren "Buster" Deyermond, with whom I graduated from high school in 1966. As far as I know, Buster was the only member of my graduating class that went to Vietnam but didn't make it back alive. Buster and I never got along, but I have to respect his sacrifice and say "Thank You" as I reflect on this Veteran's Day.

(Curiously enough, Buster's cousin was pictured in the 1968 Andover HS yearbook along with Jay Leno as the "Class Clowns". I have been told that Jay has kept in touch with the family).

Please thank a Veteran today...

Thank you Bruce!!
    ~ Beach Comber ~

Default Thanking a Vet.

There is such a change in the overall feeling towards Vet's today compared to 30 years ago. I still get thank you's from people I don't know and I've been back from Iraq for almost nine months now. I was about 14 years old when Saigon fell but for those of you "old" vet's here's my belated thank you to you!

I went to my son's High School (Bangor Christian (Class D)) state soccer match in Richmond last weekend and was in uniform because of a drill weekend and was admitted to the match free. Tickets were $7.00!